1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Ethernet Failover Help

Discussion in 'Switches, NICs and cabling' started by delid4ve, Jun 14, 2018 at 10:45 AM.

  1. delid4ve

    delid4ve Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Due to me not being on premises all the time and no other staff having any I.T/Networking Knowledge (mine is only self taught and there is a lot i do not know) i'm having to implement some fail over.

    This may seem a dumb question but i dont know the best way to achieve.
    My network layout is as follows:


    Local Clients --> Patch Panel --> Managed 24 Port Switch --> Mikrotik RB1100AHX2 --> FTTP Gateway (ISP supplied)

    The mikrotik router also feeds off to other premises as we are providing internet due to the slow ADSL speed of 2mb/s. (routed public IP's)
    There is also a wireless AP.
    I've bought an RB1100AHX4 and have been reading up on VRRP for fail over should the existing router fail.

    My question is..
    How am i going to split the patch panel off to two routers?
    I know i can use the switch to assign VLANS before the routers but then what if the switch fails?
    I can obviously have a spare switch present and configured ready should it happen, but no one would even know how to troubleshoot the switch or even know if it had failed, so there goes my failover.

    Enlighten me please, as short of patching one cable into multiple patch ports im scratching my head..
    I cant see that its possible other than buying splitters but then losing gigabit speed.

    Apologies if I'm being dumb here :confused:
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,488
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I would consider VLAN as close to the dmarc as possible - more options there if you have multiple public addresses there.

    Otherwise - you can do the VLAN's on the the Microtik or the managed switch (depends though if it is layer 2, layer 3 lite, or full layer 3).
     
  4. degrub

    degrub Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    516
    can the local folks follow "plug cable 1 into port 1" with a diagram illustrating ?
    If so, just preconfigure a spare router and switch if you are concerned about hardware failure.
     
  5. MichaelCG

    MichaelCG Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Central US
    You need to define what your risk tolerance is for failure and what failure scenarios you are trying to build for.
    - Router
    - Switch
    - ISP
    - What is an acceptable recovery time?
    - Who is expected/required to be available to recover?

    VRRP is one method for redundancy for sure, but you will generally need a switch on both sides of the FW sandwich to work properly. You also will now have to also make sure you are keeping your two routers/FWs configurations somewhat in sync.

    Once you better define what scenarios and overall tolerances are, we may be able to better narrow down guidance.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!