What's new

Ethernet Failover Help

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

delid4ve

Occasional Visitor
Due to me not being on premises all the time and no other staff having any I.T/Networking Knowledge (mine is only self taught and there is a lot i do not know) i'm having to implement some fail over.

This may seem a dumb question but i dont know the best way to achieve.
My network layout is as follows:

Local Clients --> Patch Panel --> Managed 24 Port Switch --> Mikrotik RB1100AHX2 --> FTTP Gateway (ISP supplied)

The mikrotik router also feeds off to other premises as we are providing internet due to the slow ADSL speed of 2mb/s. (routed public IP's)
There is also a wireless AP.
I've bought an RB1100AHX4 and have been reading up on VRRP for fail over should the existing router fail.

My question is..
How am i going to split the patch panel off to two routers?
I know i can use the switch to assign VLANS before the routers but then what if the switch fails?
I can obviously have a spare switch present and configured ready should it happen, but no one would even know how to troubleshoot the switch or even know if it had failed, so there goes my failover.

Enlighten me please, as short of patching one cable into multiple patch ports im scratching my head..
I cant see that its possible other than buying splitters but then losing gigabit speed.

Apologies if I'm being dumb here :confused:

I would consider VLAN as close to the dmarc as possible - more options there if you have multiple public addresses there.

Otherwise - you can do the VLAN's on the the Microtik or the managed switch (depends though if it is layer 2, layer 3 lite, or full layer 3).

can the local folks follow "plug cable 1 into port 1" with a diagram illustrating ?