Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ext4 formatted USB disk shown as full

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by NetVicious, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. NetVicious

    NetVicious Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Hi!
    I connected one USB disk formatted with ext4 filesystem and it's shown as full in the website and ssh:

    Code:
    ASUSWRT-Merlin RT-AC68U 380.68-4 Wed Oct  4 19:01:14 UTC 2017
    
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# df -h
    
    Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
    .....
    /dev/sda1               916.9G    898.4G         0 100% /tmp/mnt/sda1
    Code:
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# mount
    
    .....
    /dev/sda1 on /tmp/mnt/sda1 type ext4 (rw,nodev,relatime,barrier=1,data=ordered)
    
    Obviously the hard disk it's not full (look Size and Used in df), but I cannot add files within Samba.

    The permissions on "USB Application / Network place (samba) Share" are ok, the user has RW on that disk.

    I can add files within SCP with WinSCP without any problem. A bit strange :-(

    I checked the permissions on the folders and set all to 777.

    The system it's plenty on free inodes:
    Code:
    [email protected]:/tmp/mnt/sda1# tune2fs -l /dev/sda1 | grep node
    Filesystem features:      has_journal ext_attr resize_inode dir_index filetype needs_recovery extent flex_bg sparse_super large_file huge_file uninit_bg dir_nlink extra_isize
    Inode count:              61054976
    Free inodes:              61047477
    
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,007
    Location:
    UK
    I don't think the used/available space discrepancy is anything to do with the router. You'll see the same sort of numbers with any ext4 filesystem on any server. I'd guess that most of the difference will be down to the reserved blocks which are typically 5%.
     
  3. NetVicious

    NetVicious Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    May be, but a bit strange it allows me to add new files within SCP on the same usb disk

    I will try make some free space on the device.

    Regards,
     
  4. cameos

    cameos Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    It could be files you have deleted but are still opened by some processes, space will be freed after those processes close these files. You can use lsof to check what files are opened by what process.
     
  5. NetVicious

    NetVicious Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I restarted the router before sending this post because I thought it can be a hanged samba process.

    Which filesystem uses the router when we format one USB hard disk withint the same router?
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,007
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry, I don't understand the question. Can you ask it in a different way?
     
  7. NetVicious

    NetVicious Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    If we format one USB hard disk with the Router administration webpage which filesystem format it creates (FAT32, NTFS, ext4, ...).
     
  8. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I'd like to see a screenshot of that page where one can format USB devices in the UI.
     
  9. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,007
    Location:
    UK
    I don't have that option in my firmware. But someone else recently referred to it so perhaps it's a new addition?
     
  10. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Huh? I meant this as a joke. Now I really need to see a screenshot, the firmware used and the model this runs on.
     
  11. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I see now, this is the elusive RT-AC86U with stock firmware. Really wish I could get my coder hands on one of these.
     
  12. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,007
    Location:
    UK
    Well the OP shows "RT-AC68U 380.68-4", so unless he's using a different firmware and hasn't told us...
     
  13. NetVicious

    NetVicious Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I'm sorry, it seems Merlin doesn't has one option to format the USB drive. I don't know if the original Asus firmware had that option...
    I will try making some free space to see if this limitation it's related to some limitation.
     

Share This Page