What's new

First steps

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

JLR

New Around Here
First I want to say that as I have been reading for hours in these forums how much I appreciate the quality of the responses. I have very little networking experience, I've helped with installation (run miles of wire) but not on the design or maintenance of a network.

So now down to business. I am in the process of getting rid of our horrid telephone company provided internet. Normal speeds of less than 1 mbps. In doing this we are going with a wireless line of sight provider which will max out at 20 mbps. (Very rural community but fiber is coming!) Currently we have been using the provided horrid little box provided by the telephone folks and one repeater. This has been enough to get wifi to about 3/4 of our building. We also are having to massively limit our users as the current equipment becomes overwhelmed very easily.