Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Fork] Asuswrt-Merlin 374.43 LTS releases (V27E5)

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by john9527, Aug 14, 2014.

  1. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,639
    Location:
    United States
    Check 7 and 8 posts up :)
     
    Nullity likes this.
  2. Wisiwyg

    Wisiwyg Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Thank you John, sorry I didn't go further back. As the prior poster stated - no biggie. One of these APs is in our bedroom and I have it blacked out. You can imagine the ensuing conversation now!
     
  3. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,639
    Location:
    United States
    :eek:
    Well, I better get on it for the next release!:D
    Won't be long.....just waiting a little bit for the bugs that didn't get caught in the beta to come out.
     
  4. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,639
    Location:
    United States
    txpower isn't used on the N66 (or any of the MIPS based routers, it's for the new drivers in the ARM builds)

    TxPower is the one you want to look at (note the difference in case)

    But, I do agree it's an unnecessary confusion factor. I'll remove it from the MIPS routers following a factory reset in the next release. You can also just remove it in the meantime....

    nvram unset wl_txpower
    nvram unset wl0_txpower
    nvram unset wl1_txpower
    nvram commit
     
    cvx01 likes this.
  5. ls3c6

    ls3c6 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    ah, thank you! I think I got it?

    admin[email protected]:/tmp/home/root# nvram show | grep TxPower
    wl_TxPower=120
    wl0_TxPower=120
    size: 40929 bytes (24607 left)
     
  6. eduroca

    eduroca Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Hi! Some time ago I installed DDWRT in my N16. I'm having some performance issues and I'd like to back to Merlin firmware since it's always been more stable.

    Thing is, I can't for the life of me find the Firmware Restoration Utility. Asus' website seems to indicate that it should be inside a ZIP file, but all I get is the .trx file.

    Am I missing something?

    Thanks for any help!
     
  7. Pierino

    Pierino Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Columbus Ohio
  8. eduroca

    eduroca Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks, a million!

    So you're saying I don't need the recovery tool, I can just install John's fork directly from the DDWRT interface?
     
  9. cybrnook

    cybrnook Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    421
    Go for it! Worst case is you have to flash from recovery server. Second to worse case it the gui just yells at you and tells you it's a wrong image.

    Absolutely NVRAM reset after flashing.
     
  10. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,639
    Location:
    United States
    cybrnook likes this.
  11. sirwifi

    sirwifi Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    USA
    Please scratch my curiosity ... what is the purpose of the "wl_" settings in nvram? What do they apply to? I understand "wl0_" and "wl1_", but are "wl_" common settings that apply to both radios? Sometimes all 3 appear, with the same value. Thanks!

    Code:
    # nvram show | grep corerev
    wl1_corerev=42
    wl_corerev=42
    wl0_corerev=42
    
    Edit: Interesting, maybe "wl_" is an alias for "wl0_"?

    Code:
    # nvram show | grep chanspec
    wl_chanspec=6
    wl0_chanspec=6
    wl1_chanspec=149/80
    
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2017
  12. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,639
    Location:
    United States
    They are used by the webui. It act as a bridge between the webui and whichever radio you are accessing in the gui. If you are working on the 2.4GHz radio, it takes on the value of wl0_, 5GHz takes on wl1_

    That way you can have common code for all radios.
     
    cvx01 likes this.
  13. sirwifi

    sirwifi Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks.

    Another question: what's best practice these days, to use the same SSID for both radios and let the clients decide which to connect to or separate for more control? I've been using different SSIDs for many years, but perhaps there are advantages to using the same one.
     
  14. jrmwvu04

    jrmwvu04 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    The only advantage to using the same SSID is simplicity. I found that in practice, most of my devices chose the stronger signal which was always 2.4, even when the link was really slow and 5 was fine. So I separated them to keep the 5 active all the time.
     
    sirwifi likes this.
  15. Hunny Puppy

    Hunny Puppy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Is there a way to allow the user to sort by column when in the Daily/Monthly view pages? This is an idea I'm taking from Tomato (I moved over to Asus Merlin), it's brilliant as it's allows you to see who are the top 5/10 devices which are consuming and you can choose, by Download or Upload or Total etc.
     
  16. Builder71

    Builder71 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ehhh John, what have you been smokin'? :D

    Please no factory reset.
    And why not leave it in?
    Been there for ages and doesn't do any harm.
    (Keep variables close to stock firmware. You never know.)
     
  17. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,639
    Location:
    United States
    Removing the txpower (lowercase) on MIPS which is only used on the new SDK for ARM. Not the good, old, standard TxPower that has been there forever. Haven't gone off the deep end (yet :) )
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2017
  18. Builder71

    Builder71 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK :)

    And what about the factory reset? :eek:
    Is that needed for the next release?
     
  19. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,639
    Location:
    United States
    Only for the ARM routers....AC56 and all the AC68 variations....
     
  20. Builder71

    Builder71 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Cool, guess they can use your NVRAM Save/Restore Utility to ease the pain.
     

Share This Page