1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Fork] Asuswrt-Merlin 374.43 LTS releases (V36EA)

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by john9527, Aug 14, 2014.

  1. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,749
    Location:
    UK
    I notice that the OnePlus 6 supports 5GHz using AC. Are you connecting to the 5GHz band? The N66U doesn't support AC connections, only B/G/N so maybe that's confusing it. Try connecting to the 2.4GHz band only and seeing if that makes a difference.
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. zboq

    zboq Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Tarnów
    Was thinking about something similar and disabled 5GHz band completely but reboots where still there.
     
  4. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,777
    Location:
    United States
  5. zboq

    zboq Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Tarnów
    hmm it is possible that I've changed my phone in the very same time as a firmware.
    Would it change something if I disable DoS protection in a config ?
     
  6. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,777
    Location:
    United States
    No, all indications are that the phone is causing a multicast storm....also, it seems to affect that last Merlin builds as well as my fork.
     
  7. zboq

    zboq Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Tarnów
    Ok.
    Fyi, my phone is using Android 9, but reboots were also there on android 8.1.
    So, now I'm going to disable wifi just to see if it helps. Will report back soon.
    Thx for Your help.
     
  8. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,777
    Location:
    United States
    Will be a good test.....Please let us know the results.
     
  9. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Had both of my AC68U's loose connection to Quad9 resolvers this morning. Had upgraded to latest 36EA firmware. Had DoT and DNSSEC enabled from the prior build. Did not have the time to check the Stubby log as there were several angry office staff that wanted connection now. Went back to just the Quad9 via up addresses.
    This is in line with my experience at home with Quad9. Not having issues with Cloudflare resolvers on DoT and DNSSEC. Quad9 and CleanBrowsing give me problems! Running just DNSSEC or just DoT seems to work OK.
    Sure would like to figure out why Cloudflare works.

    Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk
     
  10. zboq

    zboq Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Tarnów
    Heh, of course I will disable Wi-Fi on my phone, not router :-D
    Wysłane z mojego ONEPLUS A6003 przy użyciu Tapatalka
     
  11. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,777
    Location:
    United States
    Quad9 went completely unavailable on me for a good part of yesterday (really made me mad as I was experimenting and thought some changes I made broke DNSSEC when they really didn't)
     
  12. best.binoculars

    best.binoculars New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Many android users are having that problem, just check out this thread. It's crazy how this problem has been going on for almost a year and google seems doesn't care.

    Btw, one of the user commented that assigning a static IP address fixes the problem.
     
    il2 likes this.
  13. mihei78

    mihei78 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Have a nice day, everyone! I use Merlin fork 374.43_36EAj9527 on AC66U 1 revision router. In PPPOE mode, the udpxy port: 4000 does not work. When I connect the Internet in the automatic ip mode, from another router, udpxy works. On stock firmware, HGG, Merlin, udpxy in pppoe mode works. Help please solve the problem.
     
  14. larsnet

    larsnet New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5
  15. Zorro

    Zorro New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    First post and I'm already asking for help.

    Currently using Asuswrt-Merlin last available firmware (RT-N66U_380.70_0.trx) on my ASUS RT-N66U.

    As Asuswrt-Merlin is no longer updating his firmware for this model I'm thinking about changing to Merlin fork 374.43_36EAj9527.

    Forgive me for being a noob but if I create a backup of my current config using nvram-save-r26.2 can I then restore by backup to my ASUS RT-N66U with Merlin fork 374.43_36EAj9527 without having to manually set it all up again myself?

    Just read in @UpgradeMatrix.txt that it's 'Likely (change in code size)' that I will have to Reformat/Restore JFFS.

    I have created a backup using nvram-save-r26.2 and there is a directory with JFFS openvpn info in it, so I guess that there is data in the JFFS partition.

    I've seen a button under Administration\System to Format JFFS partition at next boot. Do I have to use this? When?

    Words of one syllable please. With your help hopefully I won't brick my ASUS RT-N66U.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  16. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,777
    Location:
    United States
    May be a tough one....I don't have access to a PPPoE connection, AC66U or a way to test udpxy.

    I did however take a look, and see that there is newer release of udpxy available in Merlin along with a couple of parameter adjustments. I'll port them over for you to try and send you a PM.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2018
    mihei78 likes this.
  17. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,777
    Location:
    United States
    Since you are on a 380 base, it should work.

    After you go thru the firmware upgrade with the Recovery Tool or CFE mini server (just a reminder that this takes a LONG time to complete.....40min or a bit more).

    - Do a factory default reset
    - after boot, select reformat JFFS partition at next boot, Apply, and then reboot twice
    - use the nvram-restore tool to restore both the nvram and jffs
    - if you use wifi mac address filtering or ssh access, check those settings. They may need to be touched up manually.

    Should work ok...good luck.
     
    underdose likes this.
  18. Zorro

    Zorro New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for your reply.
    Will take a load screen shots before I move forward.
     
  19. tsanga

    tsanga New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    I most recently did the same thing you’re doing, but on RT-AC66U instead.

    I used nvram-save-r26.2 to save NVRAM and JFFS from Merlin 380.x.
    Then I used Asus firmware restore utility to install the LTS fork. This didn’t take 40 minutes but only a few minutes.
    Afterward I did another factory reset, then restored using nvram-save-r26.2 (when I finally figured out how to mount my USB drive, see below).

    Almost everything was restored except for my VPN TLS certificate keys, which I’ve gotten into the habit of saving. So I just manually pasted them back.

    The other thing I learned was any time I left the USB thumb drive in during a FW upgrade (this happened as well installing the recent LTS maintenance release), the router would cease to detect any USB drive I plug in until I repeat the FW upload without a drive plugged. This wasn’t a case of not mounting; the router didn’t recognize something was hot plugged.

    Good luck, it went well for me.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    il2 and john9527 like this.
  20. clovek1

    clovek1 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Using the EA and E9 build i have to manually set up the DNS server IP address to my ASUS N66U router ip address (192.168.0.1) in Windows10 (build 1903) and Android (Android 8.0.0) to be able to connect outside of my private network. Otherwise i am able to access my LAN devices, but not the internet.
    My WAN settings are here:
    [​IMG]
    my LAN->DHCP Server settings:
    [​IMG]

    the DNS server seems to be configured on two places. I am really confused :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2018
  21. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,749
    Location:
    UK
    What do you have on the LAN > DHCP Server page?
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!