1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Fork] Asuswrt-Merlin 374.43 LTS releases (V39E3)

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by john9527, Aug 14, 2014.

  1. Chazall1

    Chazall1 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    What is the best way to use your
    NVRAM Save/Restore Utility
    Should I have it on a USB Drive?
     
  2. punchsuckr

    punchsuckr Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Messages:
    205
    No need to apologise for Asus' mistakes John! :D :) It has been a week now with the router on, no dropped connections on any of the iphones in the house (switching between 2.4/5 at their liking, same SSID) or any other device. Shows full strength on my TV at 5Ghz, which wasn't the case with newer drivers. Media server works without rescanning on every reboot, I even upgraded to 15e5 without a rescan. Openvpn has been working without issues.
    All in all a great release. Thanks a lot man.

    EDIT: this is on a n66u
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2015
  3. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,096
    Location:
    United States
    The QuickStart file included in the download describes how to set it up on a USB stick, which is the simplest way, especially for Windows users that may not be familiar with Linux. You could use a USB drive by adjusting the paths to point to the install directory on that drive. I'm always looking to improve the directions, so if you run into problems please follow up in the utility thread.....
    http://www.snbforums.com/threads/user-nvram-save-restore-utility-r22.19521/
     
  4. followmsi

    followmsi Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks John !

    Now I can see the successful NTP update in the logs.
    But I still wonder why the router had a 7 seconds difference, especially if NTP is working better now.

    Anyway .. I will check for time differences in a few days/weeks again.

    Regards
     
  5. Unicorphia

    Unicorphia New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    First of all, with respect to the community, my condolences to John. I lost my parents this year and it was a learning experience to appreciate my loved ones while I have them. Best regards to you.

    My newbie question is regarding this firmware, is this latest compatible with the N66R? The initial post says:

    "The following routers are supported by this fork:
    • N16, N66U, AC66U, AC56U, AC68U, AC68P (and the retail and color versions, R and W)"
    and I just want to make sure the "R" refers to the N66 and not just the AC68.

    TIA.
     
  6. Kal-EL

    Kal-EL Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,521
    Location:
    Motor City, Michigan-USA
    Yes this firmware works great with the N66R. There is no difference in any Asus RT-N66 from U, R, W. They are all the same hardware.

    U = online retail
    R = Retail stores such as Best Buy.
    W= The router is White.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2015
    Unicorphia likes this.
  7. Unicorphia

    Unicorphia New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    I see, that's great to know, and thanks very much for the reply, Kal-EL.
     
  8. Unicorphia

    Unicorphia New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Update: flashed from an Asus 376 version from last year to 374.43_2-15E5j9527 and it worked great. I reset the router, set everything up again, and I'm seeing no issues so far. Thanks everyone for your support and resources here. Now I will take some time reading your threads about this router and of the things people here have been doing with it, and I think that will be fun.
     
  9. Gravityz

    Gravityz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    i just upgraded to V15E5(coming from V13E1)
    everything seems ok but i noticed one thing.

    with version 13 i did not use jffs which is currently enabled(checked when logging into the router)

    on the system information page however it says that jffs is unmounted while it clearly is.

    any thoughts?

    on administration/system it also says that jffs is not enabled

    i think if i enable it here it probably will work but just checking on what to do
    enable first, format partition on boot later
    enable and format partion on boot also ?
    save logging to jffs ?(i do not think it was logging before on jffs so what is the catch/advantage)
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2015
  10. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,096
    Location:
    United States
    Welcome to the forum! You've already made a positive impression by showing you actually read before doing :D
     
  11. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,096
    Location:
    United States
    On the MIPS based routers the jffs space is created from the leftover space after the code has been loaded. As the size of the firmware image grows, the beginning of jffs can be overwritten causing corruption/problems (Hence the warning to make sure you have a backup of jffs in the release notes).

    So, if the admin page says it's disabled,
    Select Enable JFFS, and format at next boot
    Reboot and wait a couple of minutes
    Reboot again without changing anything (this may not be necessary, but sometimes it takes two reboots to successfully do the format)
    Things should now be back in sync
    If you had anything on jffs, restore via telnet/ssh cmdline from backup.

    Some people are concerned about minimizing the number of flash writes, so I provided the option. Advantage is if the router crashes, you may have some data on the crash in a version of the syslog on jffs (the jffs copy is actually not realtime, so it may or may not have anything to help).
     
    Gravityz likes this.
  12. Gravityz

    Gravityz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    as always. thanks again for your splendid explanation.

    i will do as you suggested (have to wait for my son to quit Spatoon)

    thanks again
     
  13. huotg01

    huotg01 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    424
    Location:
    Montreal
    Hi John

    Could you, in the first post of this thread (or here), remind me (and others) what is the goal of the fork ?

    Thanks,

    Gaston
     
  14. Blinkyz

    Blinkyz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Seriously? o_O

    For those of you not yet ready to update to the latest 376 or 378 releases, an incremental update (fixpack) to 374.43_2 is available. This older code base has a history of being very stable, and some of the older code components may perform better in some environments
     
    joegreat likes this.
  15. Gravityz

    Gravityz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    bummer you beat me to it:p
    Still to add something just in case people keep on asking.

    Asus has crippeled their firmware after release 374 due to FCC regulations
    result:
    shortened wifi range
    less power output
    no way to set the router to other countries(thus increasing power)(actually their are ways but you do not want to go their with certain routers)

    so if you like better wifi coverage(what the router is made for) you might want to stick with this fork update.
    The fork update includes al the latest security updates from the original Asus firmware but with the improved range.




     
    huotg01 likes this.
  16. Lotta Cox

    Lotta Cox Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    203
    Location:
    Google HQ
    I did a factory reset last week. First time in a while. But since then I cant turn off Log DHCP queries. They were not logging before the reset.
    Log DHCP queries is set to no and I still get them in my log. Isn't this a DHCP querry?
    Dec 7 12:55:48 dnsmasq-dhcp[1121]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.47 09:11:d4:7a:bf:07 Tivomini1
     
  17. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,096
    Location:
    United States
    And you both beat me to it :D That first paragraph plus the later 'Some notes on this fork' section attempt to summarize the goals.

    This fork is basically a KISS principle fork. I try to keep it so that's it reasonable up to date with some of the most popular new features and security updates, while working to not try and break things (sometime I fail, but try to fix anything very quickly :) ). It's meant for people looking for a 'set it and forget it' environment....it just runs. It doesn't have things like fancy icons or client renaming or the prettiest status pages in the gui..

    Secondarily, some of the older components do work better for some, especially on the older MIPS routers.
     
    huotg01 likes this.
  18. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,096
    Location:
    United States
    I just double checked, and it appears to be working for me to turn them off. One thing, on the latest fork release I moved the option to the Administration > System page to keep all the logging options in one place and because it interacts with some of the other logging options.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2015
  19. huotg01

    huotg01 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    424
    Location:
    Montreal
    Yes, it is a very serious question. I have been away from this forum for a long time, and am not aware of (or forgot) the reasons why John started this fork. When I wanted to find out, I was unable to find the answer. As long as I remember, there was some other and precise reasons, no ?

    Thanks,

    Gaston.
     
  20. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,096
    Location:
    United States
    The reason I started this fork.....three of them actually......
    - I was having a problem with Plex Media Server and upnp that wasn't getting a lot of attention, so I thought I'd try to track it down (I actually did and the fix was picked up by the miniupnpd author)
    - I never used git and wanted to learn something new
    - At the time, 376 was having some 'growing pains', and didn't work well for me, while 374 was good except for the above mentioned problem.

    Since then, it just grew....I was actually surprised by the popularity of the release. As it stands, I get about 4000 downloads for each new release. Small compared to Merlin releases, but enough to keep it going. Plus....it still works great for me :D
     
    il2, punchsuckr, sbailey4 and 2 others like this.