What's new

[Fork] Asuswrt-Merlin 374.43 LTS releases (V44EA)

KGB7

Very Senior Member
On the PS4 go to [Settings] > [Network] > [Set Up Internet Connection] > [Use Wi-Fi] > [Custom] > [Automatic] > [DHCP Host Name] > [Specify]. Enter a host name and then carry on with the rest of the network configuration.
My PS4 has internet connection and I can play games online, but the router doesn't see it as PS4 in the logs. The router sees my Apple devices as; iPad, iPhone, etc. But not PS4.

It doesn't bother me one way or another, but there seems to be a bug or missing information in the Firmware code.
 
Last edited:

Jack Yaz

Part of the Furniture
My PS4 has internet connection and I can play games online, but the router doesn't see it as PS4 in the logs. The router sees my Apple devices as; iPad, iPhone, etc. But not PS4.

It doesn't bother me one way or another, but there seems to be a bug or missing information in the Firmware code.
This is a failure of the PS4 to automatically report its hostname. As you have identified, the router can see the hostnames of other devices. Hence @ColinTaylor suggestion to manually set a hostname in the ps4.
 

000111

Senior Member
My dudes... I would like to reconfigure the command that runs stubby, likely to change the log level and maybe the log location.

SSH into the router and check with ps command and I get this running process for stubby-
stubby -g -v 7 -C /etc/stubby.yml -F /var/tmp/stubby/stubby.log

I would like to use something like this-
stubby -g -v 3 -C /etc/stubby.yml -F /tmp/mnt/somewhere/else/stubby.log

I can killall the stubby process and run the command and it appears to work for a minute (can even write the log in a different place for a short time) but then ps reveals stubby running with default parameters.

Edit: ColinTaylor thank you sir!
 
Last edited:

ColinTaylor

Part of the Furniture
Hey guys, I am kinda remembering @john9527 saying something about the ideal place to put scripts for vlan, but I can't find that anymore. The "problem" that I am facing, I had to put this stuff in two scripts, init-start & services-start to have it working reliably. Is there a better solution?
You're probably thinking of the new lan-start script that was added in the last dev build.

http://www.snbforums.com/threads/fork-asuswrt-merlin-374-43-lts-releases-v44ea.18914/post-610628
 

Bob.Dig

Regular Contributor
@ColinTaylor Do you or anyone else think that lan-start will solve that issue, that services-start is to late for wired vlan and init-start to early for everything else?
 

ColinTaylor

Part of the Furniture
@ColinTaylor Do you or anyone else think that lan-start will solve that issue, that services-start is to late for wired vlan and init-start to early for everything else?
No idea. It's just another tool you can use. Whether it's helpful in your situation is for you to find out.
 

reddy

Occasional Visitor
Hi. First things first - huge thanks for keeping this alive!
My good old RT-N66U was running 374.43_44EAj9527 for quite a while but recently I noticed it drops packages over WiFi between the router and the clients from time to time, at least on 5GHz (I wasn't monitoring 2.4GHz closely as my main work machines are connected to 5GHz). It's kind of random, not in similar time periods. Sometimes it's a single package, sometimes it's a few, so it can break the streaming of internet radios, hang my work VPN connection, or disturb the feed on video calls. I monitored the pings to the router (simply 192.168.1.1) and to Google's DNS server (8.8.8.8) with PingPlotter.
First thing I did - I replaced the power supply with over two times more powerful one, as I read some threads saying that the original power supply may deteriorate over time (mine is ~7 years old) and cause such effects. Unfortunately - that didn't help.
So I've just flashed the development firmware: 3.0.0.4.374.43_45D5j9527
This apparently didn't help either, as I've just noticed another lost pings. I checked the logs and couldn't find anything suspicious except:
Code:
Sep  7 20:30:15 (none) cron.err crond[402]: time disparity of 5094390 minutes detected
but I presume it's also normal as the router updated the time from the NTP after the reboot after flashing the firmware. I pasted the full log (after a bit of anonymization :) ) at: https://pastebin.com/49Ymyp9F

FYI, otherwise the build looks stable after 2 hours of testing.

But any idea what might cause those lost packages? I don't really have the need to buy a new router, if not that...

EDIT01 after a day: I've just got a huge package drop lasting over 30 seconds (from 10:08:43 to 10:09:14). This surely came in the worst possible moment, killing my video conference call :( I checked the router logs but I can't see nothing else but plenty DHCP-related entries around that time (I'm not sure though how well the time of my PC and the router are synced), like those (I manually replaced last bytes of MAC with xx:xx):

Code:
Sep  9 10:06:54 (none) user.info kernel: device br0 entered promiscuous mode
Sep  9 10:06:57 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:06:57 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:06:57 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:06:57 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:09 (none) user.info kernel: device br0 left promiscuous mode
Sep  9 10:07:10 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:10 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:10 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:10 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:12 (none) user.info kernel: device br0 entered promiscuous mode
Sep  9 10:07:15 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPRELEASE(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:44 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:44 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:44 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:44 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:44 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:44 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:55 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:55 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:55 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:07:55 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:08:16 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:08:16 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:08:16 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:08:16 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:08:41 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:08:41 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:08:41 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:08:41 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:10:03 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:10:03 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:10:04 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:10:04 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:10:13 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:10:13 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:10:13 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:10:13 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:10:21 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[651]: DHCPRELEASE(br0) 192.168.1.56 ac:9e:17:e9:xx:xx 
Sep  9 10:12:02 (none) user.info kernel: device br0 left promiscuous mode
Is there a way to log/check what actually happened causing packages drop?
Why there's so many DHCP-related activity for a single node spanning over 5 minutes in the logs above? I see similar logs for other nodes in my network, too.

EDIT02:
I don't know if that matters, but that node 192.168.1.56 is an old RT-N18U working as a Media Bridge. Can this cause issues?

EDIT03:
I realized there's over 4 minutes difference in clocks between my PC and RT-N66U. PC has correct time while the router is lagging behind. Surprising, as the router settings seem correct:
1599644650292.png
 
Last edited:

KGB7

Very Senior Member
Router AC68U
Firmware 44EA

Im missing AiDisk Manager. under USB Disk. When I click on AiDisk, im taken to an empty page.
 

jrmwvu04

Very Senior Member
Router AC68U
Firmware 44EA

Im missing AiDisk Manager. under USB Disk. When I click on AiDisk, im taken to an empty page.
I have never, ever used it but I checked it out to confirm that I also see a blank page where there seemingly should not be. 45D5, iOS 14 Safari
 

jrmwvu04

Very Senior Member
Works fine for me. Chrome on Windows.
Yeah, I posted my platform and browser because I suspect it’s at fault. I’ve since checked Safari 14 on macOS 11, same result with the blank page. Works properly on Safari 13.1.2 on macOS 10.15
 

jeff288

Regular Contributor
Router AC68U
Firmware 44EA

Im missing AiDisk Manager. under USB Disk. When I click on AiDisk, im taken to an empty page.
I'm missing parts of Traffic Manager on Firefox but it only happens with firstparty cookie isolation enabled. Could that be the problem?
 

bejoysat

New Around Here
I was on 380.70 for a long time on my N66U. Recently I observed the router getting reset while my phone gets connected to the 5GHz network. Could it be a issue with the AC standard client connection causing problem? I have the phone for over a year but the issue is observed only recently.

Anyway, I moved to 374.43_44EAj9527 today and it is working good so far. I will continue to monitor the router for the coming days. Thanks John @john9527 for keeping this alive.
 

KGB7

Very Senior Member
I have never, ever used it but I checked it out to confirm that I also see a blank page where there seemingly should not be. 45D5, iOS 14 Safari
Yeah, I posted my platform and browser because I suspect it’s at fault. I’ve since checked Safari 14 on macOS 11, same result with the blank page. Works properly on Safari 13.1.2 on macOS 10.15
I'm missing parts of Traffic Manager on Firefox but it only happens with firstparty cookie isolation enabled. Could that be the problem?
I was able to figure out the issue.
If I disable the Media Server, by clicking on the USB Drive Icon on main page, which takes me to whole different menu, then AiDisk Manager comes back.
 

Bob.Dig

Regular Contributor
Today I noticed something, I am on 3.0.0.4.374.43_44EAj9527. Yesterday my phone was connected to the 5GHz guest network (with vlan) and I enabled the wireless scheduler for the 5GHz band to be off at night. This morning I noticed that my phone had no connection. Manually trying both bands had no success, the phone tried it but there was no connection. I then disabled the wireless scheduler and did a reboot of the asus and the phone could connect. Any thoughts?
 

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top