Beta [FORK] [DSL] [TESTERS] GNUton's Alpha/Beta Merlin builds

Bluesky

Occasional Visitor

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20210817-170346401.jpg
    Screenshot_20210817-170346401.jpg
    53.6 KB · Views: 62

GNUton

Senior Member
./ Means local directory. So you have to run it in the directory where is the executable... Which should be somewhere in /jffs
 

Bluesky

Occasional Visitor

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20210818-103335505.jpg
    Screenshot_20210818-103335505.jpg
    35.1 KB · Views: 35

Yakumo

Occasional Visitor
Tonight I will switch to the final build that just came out, I did try two of the earlier ones and have so far been very impressed with how Cake seems to be dealing with everything.
Thank you so much for sorting that out Gnuton, I made another small donation as thanks when the first fixed build came out the other week, I hope others will support you how they can too.
 

GNUton

Senior Member
Hi there!
I have released a new beta with DNS over TLS.
You wanna test it please go ahead, you can find the latest image here:


BTW you can now find DNS-over-TLS profile settins ing Advanced_VDSL_Content page.

I gave it a quick try and I have seen that changing the DNS servers in the list actually reflects to the network clients,
but https://tenta.com/test/ still says TLS is false.

So my guess is there is something not correct in my configuration or the test is not correct.

1632079052677.png


I am not expert of stubby nor of DoT, so if anybody has an understandig of what can be wrong, please let me know.

Here is the stubby config
# ps | grep stubby
15441 xxx 4456 S /usr/sbin/stubby -g -C /etc/stubby/stubby.yml

# cat /etc/stubby/stubby.yml
resolution_type: GETDNS_RESOLUTION_STUB
dns_transport_list:
- GETDNS_TRANSPORT_TLS
tls_authentication: GETDNS_AUTHENTICATION_REQUIRED
tls_query_padding_blocksize: 128
appdata_dir: "/var/lib/misc"
resolvconf: "/tmp/resolv.conf"
edns_client_subnet_private: 1
round_robin_upstreams: 1
idle_timeout: 9000
tls_connection_retries: 2
tls_backoff_time: 900
timeout: 3000
listen_addresses:
- [email protected]
upstream_recursive_servers:
- address_data: 8.8.8.8
tls_port: 853
tls_auth_name: "dns.google"
 

kernol

Very Senior Member
Hi @GNUton - great to see that you have not only stayed with the DSL program - but also extended it by adding the latest Asus DSL Router Model {Thumbs-Up} :D. PLUS I see your name acknowledged in helping to build updated firmware for the RT-AC87U abandoned by RMerlin. Awesome ...

Just thought I'd fly by and say I have never succeeded in getting a positive TLS reading despite having DNS-OVER-TLS engaged in the firmware on my RT-AC86U's, RT-AX86U's or RT-AC5300 - yet as far as I can tell DoT is actually working. On the test at https://tenta.com/test/ are you getting answer like this ...

DoT-test.png


If so - I believe you good to go and DoT is good ... but happy to be challenged by those who really know what gives ;).
 

BoostOver

Regular Contributor
Last Gnuton 5 beta 1
Good morning, could you please test the adaptive QoS and customize the classes by putting the video class at the bottom of the list?
In my case, all video traffic is classified as learn from home.
Thanks to all for testing this.
 

Attachments

  • C57051AA-5B26-4298-995B-016963F9FF26.png
    C57051AA-5B26-4298-995B-016963F9FF26.png
    244.1 KB · Views: 34
Last edited:

GNUton

Senior Member
Hi there,
I have just release a new beta for
  1. DSL-AC68U
  2. DSL-AX82U
  3. RT-AX82U
You can download the firmware and read the notes from my github:

Enjoy and happy new year!
 

BoostOver

Regular Contributor
Hi there,
I have just release a new beta for
  1. DSL-AC68U
  2. DSL-AX82U
  3. RT-AX82U
You can download the firmware and read the notes from my github:

Enjoy and happy new year!
Buon anno anche a te
 

wbennett77

Regular Contributor
Hi there,
I have just release a new beta for
  1. DSL-AC68U
  2. DSL-AX82U
  3. RT-AX82U
You can download the firmware and read the notes from my github:

Enjoy and happy new year!
Just wanted to say thank you for taking on the RT-AX82U! I just loaded the beta 3 and all seems good.

Happy New Year! Cheers!
 

eng1970

Occasional Visitor
DSL-AX5400 (base model: DSL-AX82U)

386.04_0-gnuton1_beta3

Removed the firmware upgrade options under Advanced_FirmwareUpgrade_Content.asp

only way to back out is Asus Firmware Restoration Tool

Screen Shot 2022-01-02 at 7.32.23 pm.png
 

GNUton

Senior Member
DSL-AX5400 (base model: DSL-AX82U)

386.04_0-gnuton1_beta3

Removed the firmware upgrade options under Advanced_FirmwareUpgrade_Content.asp

only way to back out is Asus Firmware Restoration Tool

View attachment 38160
Can you please create a bug issue about this here where you describe step by step how can I replicate this?

If you reset the router to factory can you see the upgrade option in Advanced_FirmwareUpgrade_Content.asp?
 
Last edited:

GNUton

Senior Member
Hi,
I have tested the firmware again and it looks all fine to me.
I would like to know if anybody else had issues in not finding the upgrade option in the web interface of the latest beta:
386.04_0-gnuton1_beta3.

In case you notice this issue please factory reset the router and try again.
Please let me know if this works or not for you.
thanks

1641309156935.png
 

eng1970

Occasional Visitor
I found it in the codebase, I have a ISP supplied router that falls under "is_ax5400_i1"


if(isSupport("is_ax5400_i1"))
{
$("#fw_note2").hide();
$("#fw_note3").show();
$("#fw_note3").html("Firmware upgrade is only accessible through Optus server."); //Untranslated
}
 

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top