1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

FW RT AC86U 3.0.0.4.384.21140

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by VANT, Jul 11, 2018.

  1. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. CriticJay

    CriticJay Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Has anyone tried the new firmware yet? (for RT-AC86U)
     
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,064
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018
  5. Lee Chyng Wei

    Lee Chyng Wei New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    is the region selection under the wifi setting still available? i'm have a chinese version but not yet update the firmware...
     
  6. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,064
    region setting on chinese version yes, but languages lost ... remaining only chinese and english
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018
  7. Lee Chyng Wei

    Lee Chyng Wei New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    i see... will hold on for the update for now...
     
  8. maxbraketorque

    maxbraketorque Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    I upgraded both my AC86U's yesterday afternoon. All fine so far. Nothing obviously broken.
     
  9. username0475

    username0475 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Did you have to redo all your settings or did the update preserve them?
     
  10. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,064
    just let it upgrade, everything kept.
     
    username0475 likes this.
  11. maxbraketorque

    maxbraketorque Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Did not wipe settings. Just upgraded as Grisu did.
     
    username0475 likes this.
  12. mromero

    mromero Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Got my update no problemo. Does anyone know if they've fixed the Adaptive QOS-wireless issue?
     
  13. Adrian Knight

    Adrian Knight Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Nobody know's what has been fixed, it's a secret.

    even the routine to fetch the release notes when a firmware update is available is broken:-

    cat /tmp/webs_upgrade.log
    ---- update real normal----
    ---- odmpid : ----
    ---- productid : 3004 384 21140 ----
    ---- odmpid : ----
    ---- productid : ----
    ---- 3004 384 21045----
    ---- lextendno: 21140 ----
    ---- download real release note https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/ASUSWRT/RT-AC86U_3004_384_21140-ge07a2dd_EN_note.zip ----
    ---- download real release note https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/ASUSWRT/RT-AC86U_3004_384_21140-ge07a2dd_EN_note.zip [Failed] ----
    ---- download real release note https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/ASUSWRT/RT-AC86U____EN_note.zip ----
    ---- download real release note https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/ASUSWRT/RT-AC86U____EN_note.zip [Failed] ----
    ---- download real US release note https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/ASUSWRT/RT-AC86U____US_note.zip [Failed] ----

    But you have to be careful of what you say in this forum, because they delete and censor your posts, they seem to think it's ok to violate the freedom of speech act.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2018
    mromero and Grisu like this.
  14. Volfi

    Volfi Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Isn't this forum a private property? Owner has rights to publish (or not to) anything (s)he wants.
     
    scjr and SwampKracker like this.
  15. haizman

    haizman New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    I upgraded yesterday and started seeing intermittent connectivity issues as my work VPN connection was going in and out. I power cycled my laptop/router/modem but still having issues with VPN. My NOC said no others were experiencing issues, so I reverted back to the previous version (3.0.0.4.384.21045). Connectivity issues disappeared after that. I'll be waiting until the next release before upgrading at this point.

    Otherwise, my experience with the RT-AC86U has been positive. I have a brother who just RMA'd his after 1 month, which gives me some pause. Waiting for AIMesh on the 3200 so I can try that out.
     
  16. maxbraketorque

    maxbraketorque Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    No problems for my work VPN (Cisco AnyConnect client).
     
  17. Latzz

    Latzz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Has this version fixed the AiProtection going offline after a few days and requiring a reboot to restore functionality?
     
  18. Neil62

    Neil62 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    My AiMesh setup can be seen in my signature. I have been running this new firmware since its release. Here is what I have noticed after a factory reset of all nodes and Main (manually reconfigured settings), after firmware update applied:

    1. The WIFI signal strength seems a little weaker with this new firmware.
    2. I have also noticed at times that when checking the Wireless System log via the GUI interface, I cannot always see the mac addresses sometimes for different nodes within the different wireless bands. Even though according to GUI the node/s are still connected and working and I can confirm that they are indeed still working. It’s random and across different nodes. The biggest offender to this is the 2.4GHZ band, i.e. the mac address for the 5GHZ band is displaying as connected but not the 2.4GHZ at times for a node. I can see via WIFI analyzer and inSSIDer that the node is transmitting that band but according to the Wireless log that band it’s not connected to the main AiMesh router. Is this a correct function of AiMesh?
    3. The View client list via the web GUI is still very unstable
    4. Still no guest accounts on nodes available
    5. Still no option to manually or schedule reboot of nodes
    6. Still can’t view which interface (band) clients are connected to, for each node, via the web GUI for the node display
    7. All else has been stable to date.
    Have also posted the above to https://www.snbforums.com/threads/r...new-firmware-version-3-0-0-4-384-21140.47652/
     
  19. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
    new changelog.
     
  20. JohnD5000

    JohnD5000 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Per AiMesh Phase 2 beta:

    Release note:
    - Support Ethernet onboarding (the mesh node search will find Ethernet nodes)
    - The wireless schedule could be synchronized of all nodes.
    - Support smart-connect rules on nodes. (both dual-band and tri-band) (RT-AC68U series have no smart connect)
    - Synchronizing wireless professional settings to nodes.
    - Synchronizing schedule reboot to all nodes.
    - Synchronizing WPS settings to all nodes. (only enable and disable, this action will not sync trigger).
    - Synchronizing region selection to all nodes. (Be noted: this function ONLY works under all nodes were bought in the same region, manual change won't help)
    - Now you can use Gmail to do feedbac

    Therefore, schedule a reboot of router and it will reboot nodes (I assume). I don't know status of AiMesh Phase 2 beta is or if it made it into 21140 (since it came out a while ago).
     
  21. Neil62

    Neil62 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    I am currently using firmware version 21140 on all my AiMesh routers and scheduling a reboot of the main AiMesh router, does not restart the nodes, maybe in the next release, fingers crossed, but thanks for info anyway.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!