good practice wifi settings 2,4 & 5GHz ?

• ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.

phoenixxko

Occasional Visitor
hi gents,

I rely here on your expertise, how to set up wifi network for home usage in best way - 2,4Ghz (I still have few devices for that) and 5GHz (majority of devices)

I live in a mid-size flat (around 90 square meters, router is well placed almost in center of it) and I'd like to fine tune my wifi setup here (to get most of it), I studied here & there, so far have following settings:

2,4GHz

wireless mode - auto
channel bandwith - 20 MHz
control channel - 11
Authentication method - Open (I am using Wireless MAC filter - only 2,4 GHz devices)

wireless scheduler & ap isolation - disabled
roaming assistant - disabled
Bluetooth Coexistence - disabled
Enable IGMP Snooping - disabled
Multicast Rate(Mbps) - Auto
Preamble Type - Short
AMPDU RTS - Enabled
RTS Threshold - 2347
DTIM Interval - 3
Beacon Interval - 100
Enable TX Bursting - Enabled
Enable WMM - Enabled
Enable WMM No-Acknowledgement - Enabled
Enable WMM APSD - Enabled
Optimize AMPDU aggregation - Enabled
Optimize ack suppression - Enabled
Modulation Scheme - Up to MCS9
Airtime Fairness - Enabled
Explicit Beamforming - Disabled
Universal Beamforming - Enabled
Tx power adjustment - Balance

5GHz

wireless mode - auto
channel bandwith - 80 MHz
control channel - 36
Extension channel - auto
Authentication method - Open (I am using Wireless MAC filter - only 5 GHz devices)

wireless scheduler & ap isolation - disabled
roaming assistant - disabled
Enable IGMP Snooping - disabled
Multicast Rate(Mbps) - Auto
AMPDU RTS - Enabled
RTS Threshold - 2347
DTIM Interval - 3
Beacon Interval - 100