What's new

Google Home (Nest Mini) fails to stay connected after being inactive (AX86U)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

bestgio

New Around Here
Hello everyone,

I've been stuck trying to figure out what I should do to properly address my nest mini (2nd gen google home mini) failing to stay connected after being inactive overnight (or a few hours) as well. "Inactive" meaning I haven't spoke any commands to the nest mini for an extended period of time. I can't pinpoint exactly how long will it take for my nest mini to lose connection, but I noticed it happens as soon as couple hours (3-4) to as long as overnight. When I ask a command, the nest mini just says they need to connect to WiFi to help. This is my first time with a google home device and it's been part of my morning routine of needing to manually pull the plug from the nest mini, wait a moment, and plug it back in after to get the nest started for the day. Not the end of the world but definitely a bit annoying.

Rebooting the router does not get my nest mini to reconnect on its own, but if I power cycled the nest mini, it will reconnect to the router just fine.

After digging through reddit and a ton of other posts online, I have tried messing with the settings and disabled a bunch of settings hoping that would fix my issue including:
Wi-Fi Agile Multiband
Target Wake Time
Roaming Assistant
Airtime Fairness
Multi-User MIMO
Explicit/Universal Beamforming
Smart Connect (off by default)

All of these settings have been applied to the 2.4GHz band and I have confirmed that the nest mini is also connected to the same 2.4GHz band. I have separate SSIDs for both 2.4GHz and 5GHz.