1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

GT-AX11000: Is A Factory Reset Needed After FW Updates?

Discussion in 'ASUS AX Routers & Adapters' started by Gooch4130, Apr 3, 2020.

  1. Gooch4130

    Gooch4130 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Should one always perform a factory reset after a FW update? The issue is the amount of customization that needs to be restored unless it is also okay to restore from backup after the factory reset. I have connected devices named with more user-friendly names, static addresses set, etc. It's a good hour of my time to get things reconfigured, not to mention factory resetting each mesh node so they can be added back. Just wondering what the consensus on this topic is given the frequency of FW on these newer devices. I assume checking the following also wipes NVRAM (and should be done):

    "Initialize all the settings, and clear all the data log for AiProtection, Traffic Analyzer, and Web History."

    Main questions are:
    (1) should a factory reset be done after FW updates (including checking the aforementioned box)
    (2) is it okay to backup settings and then restore after the reset or could that potentially break something if a backup up setting has changed or is no longer available
    (3) Will restoring bring back the mesh nodes as they were configured prior to the reset or will all of those have to be reset and re-added

    Any additional insight that folks can offer would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,137
    Location:
    UK
    A factory reset should not normally be necessary unless you are upgrading from a very old version or you are experiencing problems you cannot fix.

    Restoring a backup that was created on an older firmware is usually pointless and risks reintroducing "bad" settings that the upgrade process may have corrected. Backups should only really be used to restore a configuration taken on the same firmware version.
     
    Gooch4130 likes this.
  3. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    13,044
    If you are testing a new firmware, first flashing the firmware to be tested and the performing a full reset/Initialize all settings..., followed by a minimal and manual configuration to secure the router and connect to your ISP ensures that the router's firmware is at its proper defaults and by extension, in a good/known state. Do not use a saved backup config file as that will negate the reset to factory defaults. Do not 'blindly' copy over old customizations and settings 'just because' they seemed to work previously. Start fresh and add only one customization at a time, testing thoroughly, before considering changing anything further. A good set of notes here will help if/when a failure occurs and you need to backstep a setting or two (or at least know where the breakdown occurs).

    The same is true if you are merely troubleshooting for a specific issue and/or looking to rule out (or confirm) a hardware issue. Again, notes are invaluable if you want to do this 'once' and 'done'. ;)

    An M&M Config/Nuclear Reset (please see the link in my signature below for further information and details) can be done in as little as 15 minutes if your network is simple, even if a first-timer/beginner may take up to an hour to follow the steps exactly.

    As for nodes, you can reset them concurrently and simply let them wait while you get the main router up and running. ;)

    The static addresses should be in text file format to prevent mistakes and to speed up re-entering via copy/paste. ;)

    Most importantly, all of the above can be ignored if after flashing the latest firmware update your network continues to work as expected. :) :) :)
     
    Gooch4130 likes this.