What's new

Hello dear forum community...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sonavogel

Occasional Visitor
I am a newbie to this forum, so apologies for providing any unnecessary information or omitting anything important.

I learned about this forum through the NotebookReview forum, thanks to Phoenix, who spent a great deal of time helping me streamline my new MSI GS63 Stealth-061. When he realized that I would benefit from a router that would either connect to my Ubee modem/router (provided by Spectrum, model DDW36C, 300 Mbps download, supposedly) or replace the Ubee, he suggested I come here and ask for advice as to the best router for my particular situation.

First, I guess I’d better give you my situation. And sorry for such a long post!

My husband and I live in a 2-story log cabin, approx. 1,500 square feet (divided equally up and down); he works upstairs in a room one over from the Ubee, which sits on a shelf right by one of the walls that faces the outdoors. On the other side of the Ubee is our large wall-mounted TV. Our Spectrum account is for Internet only; we have a DirecTV account for TV. But I believe the Ubee is used for services other than TV broadcasts (Roku, perhaps, or streaming).

The Ubee supports 2.4GHz and 5GHz, but only our two Samsung J7 smartphones and my MSI Stealth (which has an Internet Wireless AC 8265 card) can take 5GHz. My husband’s Dell Latitude (and older one) and his Acer netbook—both situated in a room next to the Ubee, through a log wall and several yards away on a desk—can handle only 2.4GHz.