1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

HELP RT-AX88U no wifi signal after power cycle

Discussion in 'ASUS AX Routers & Adapters' started by KTD24, Dec 6, 2019.

  1. KTD24

    KTD24 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Hi, Any one can help to take a look the log file. I just bought it 2 - 3 days ago. It was running ok until I decided power cycle it. After the router restarted, there is no any wifi signal including 2.4 and 5G. I tried soft reboot - hard reboot....
    The light of 5G is blinking but there is no signal, the light of 2.4 is totally off.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10,325
    Location:
    UK
    I would factory reset it and set it up again. (Press and hold the reset button for 5 seconds with the router already powered on. Then release the button and wait for it to start up.)
     
  3. KTD24

    KTD24 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    I did 3 times already. After the router restarted, 2.4G still has no light and there is no any signal at all (5G and 2.4G).
     
  4. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10,325
    Location:
    UK
    Sounds like faulty hardware.
     
  5. bluepoint

    bluepoint Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    788
    Ax88U's wireless is a little bit buggy, disable AX wireless temporarily, change channels in the wireless properties to settle it down.
     
  6. KTD24

    KTD24 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Still the same.. Below is Wifi Blog:


    SSID: "Home2G"
    RSSI: 0 dBm SNR: 0 dB noise: -100 dBm Channel: 5l
    BSSID: 0C:9D:92:03:D2:E8 Capability: ESS ShortSlot
    Supported Rates: [ 1(b) 2(b) 5.5(b) 6 9 11(b) 12 18 24 36 48 54 ]
    VHT Capable:
    Chanspec: 2.4GHz channel 7 40MHz (0x1807)
    Primary channel: 5
    HT Capabilities: 40Mhz SGI20 SGI40
    Supported MCS : [ 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 ]
    VHT Capabilities:
    Supported VHT (tx) Rates:
    NSS: 1 MCS: 0-9
    NSS: 2 MCS: 0-9
    NSS: 3 MCS: 0-9
    NSS: 4 MCS: 0-9
    Supported VHT (rx) Rates:
    NSS: 1 MCS: 0-9
    NSS: 2 MCS: 0-9
    NSS: 3 MCS: 0-9
    NSS: 4 MCS: 0-9
    HE Capabilities:
    Supported HE (tx) Rates:
    80 Mhz:
    NSS: 1 MCS: 0-11
    NSS: 2 MCS: 0-11
    NSS: 3 MCS: 0-11
    NSS: 4 MCS: 0-11
    Supported HE (rx) Rates:
    80 Mhz:
    NSS: 1 MCS: 0-11
    NSS: 2 MCS: 0-11
    NSS: 3 MCS: 0-11
    NSS: 4 MCS: 0-11
    Interference Level: Acceptable
    Mode : AP Only
    Stations List
    ----------------------------------------
    idx MAC Associated Authorized RSSI PHY PSM SGI STBC MUBF NSS BW Tx rate Rx rate Connect Time
    Not associated. Last associated with
    Mode : AP Only
     
  7. bluepoint

    bluepoint Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    788
    The front right panel of this router have two switches, make sure you didn't accidentally press the radio switch off the other switch is for the lights.
     
  8. Kal-EL

    Kal-EL Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,589
    Location:
    Motor City, Michigan-USA
    There where many AX88 that had radio failures apparently you got one of them. Return for refund.
     
  9. KTD24

    KTD24 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    I found something today. If I power the router off and on too fast, the issues will come. If I leave the router abbout 10 mins then power on again everything will be good to go. Any one got same issue?
     
  10. FTC

    FTC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Sorry I did not see this post yesterday, so I could have helped you. My ax88 has exactly the same problem for which I posted the same solution in a post back in may. For if it may help you, you can avoid the 10 minutes wait just by unplugging the router and pressing the power on button 3-4 times while unplugged. The plugging it in and press power on button again to get it started.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2019
    royarcher and KTD24 like this.
  11. KTD24

    KTD24 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    I tried. It works like a charm. Just wondering what actually happens? Is the firmware issue or hardware problem? I intend to bring it to service center to let them check but not sure they can find out anything.
     
  12. FTC

    FTC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Barcelona
    I guess it is a matter of fully discharging the circiuts (capacitors and so on). I would not bring it to service center just for that. as long as you know what to do after powering it off, it is just a minor annoyance.
     
  13. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,835
    After a short power outage you end up with router down, may be a problem if you are not at home.
    Similar to RT-AC86U which will hang after reboot, not all the time but more or less often.
     
  14. FTC

    FTC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Yes. You are right that this scenario (a <10 sec power outage and not at home) can cause a problem.
     
  15. KTD24

    KTD24 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    10 seconds is ok but this is 10 minutes. Should i bring it to service center to ask for a replacement? Just wondering what if they try to fix it instead of giving me a replacement and i will have to wait for a long time.
     
  16. FTC

    FTC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Right, I confused mins and secs, however I'd make a test, since most likely it is not the same a switched off unit than a unit that simply is connected and switched on to a non powered line. In the later case it may very well be that the *unpowered* line allows for the router circuits to fully discharge faster.. just like when you have the power button pressed and the unit is unplugged. (i.e the 10 minutes may not exist in this particular situation)
     
  17. KTD24

    KTD24 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Oh that is true. I will try your way to see how long dose the router need to fully discharge.
     
  18. sanke1

    sanke1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    IN
    @KTD24
    On your router's box... what does it say about Hardware version? Is is A1 or A1.1 ?
     
  19. FTC

    FTC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Barcelona
    sanke1, mine is A1 and exhibits this problem.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  20. KTD24

    KTD24 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Mine is A1