What's new

Help with Access Point/Repeater set-up

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

shelleyevans

Regular Contributor
Hi! I have recently switched from AiMesh to an access point/repeater configuration. Please forgive this very basic question-- I have never used either before:

I'm pretty sure that I set up the main settings-- AiProtection, DNS, etc, from the router. But there some settings that I have enabled on the router AND the access point and repeater, like roam assistant and Tx power adjustment. Is that correct?

I have searched and can't find any simple guidelines, probably because it's SUCH a simple question, like how do you turn on the router... On the other hand, I am stuck. If somebody could list the guidelines I would be very grateful. :confused:

Yes! I started out on Merlin, with an RT-AC68U, and then went back to stock when I expanded to an AiMesh system-- RT-AC86U, RT-AC68U, RT-AC-66U_B1. Then, after getting my feet wet with AiMesh, and running into some VOIP issues on stock firmware (problems I never had when I was on Merlin before), I ditched AiMesh/stock and returned to Merlin, on all three devices, in a Router/Access Point/Repeater setup. It works beautifully-- really, much better than AiMesh/stock for me. No problems with buffer bloat (which I couldn't control well with AiMesh/stock), no problems with VOIP quality. Probably more than you needed to know. :)

Hi! I have recently switched from AiMesh to an access point/repeater configuration. Please forgive this very basic question-- I have never used either before: