What's new

Help with setting up a Supermicro/Drivepool backup server

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

New Around Here
Hello! :)

Total networking n00b here, in case it won't be obvious from my post, (it will be!). :p

DISCLAIMER:
I am not good with brevity, so it is a very long post, but you might be able to skip to the end after it says "SO TO SUM UP, I NEED TO KNOW" if you don't need all the deets...

I am looking to set up a backup server using all my older hard drives, and after spending more than a few hours reading forums and other such stuff on the internet I have decided my best option is to buy a used Supermicro array with a bunch of drive bays and set it up with a Drivepool/SnapRaid setup. I am open to other suggestions but according to my research - ("Magic Schoolbus reference FTW!) - this seems the best option for my use. It will not only act as a physical (mostly offline) backup to the files on my primary hard drives but also use SnapRaid for the backups themselves.

Currently I have a Mediasonic Probox 8-bay hard drive enclosure (no RAID) that holds 8x 6tb hard drives, used as my primary storage. I will be upgrading them all to 10tb hard drives as soon as I set up a proper backup. (I have a bunch of other drives currently used as backups that I connect using an external hard drive enclosure to backup the files whenever I have new or updated files, but I ran out of extra hard drives for backups way too long ago and now I'm almost out of hard drive space in the Mediasonic Probox, hence why I'm upgrading... Also, the external backups are all different sizes than the primary disks so it's not a very efficient way to back up my files and is very prone to mistakes...)