What's new

HOA Mission impossible

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

dpearceTT

New Around Here
I am the "comms chair" on an HOA board. The HOA is in a remote area which has no cell phone access. ISP is via DSL. The property is on a small lake about a mile long (see fishhawklake.com for details) , with dense woodland once you get any distance at all from the lake (on the access roads for example ) I have been asked (as though it's trivial):

"Can we add 2 or 3 more transmitters around the lake so our maintenance engineer is continuously in Wi-Fi range? My plan is to get him a tablet so he can take pic’s, video and always be connected/reached by email. We really need this as the busy season approaches."

I'm a software tester by profession, but I'm not very knowledgable about wireless networks beyond setting up one at home. My gut feeling is this would be non-trivial and due to tree density would not be doable at all beyond the margins of the lake. Any and all suggestions as to feasibility and equipment would be most welcome

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

While you can do what you are suggesting it will be a project?

You will need to install multiple repeaters. Will you have AC power at the tower sites or will you be willing to use solar and deep cycle batteries.

Honestly if you have cell service at the lake buy a tablet with 3G/4G modem built in and sign up for a reasonable data plan for the device.

A network like your board is considering will be a pain to set up and maintain. Even with SOHO equipment you might end up spending $800 - $1000 for WiFi repeaters and since they are mounted outside figure they would need replacing every two - three years.