What's new

Home and Office connection, Tunnel, new Switches and Routers

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Stephan Daum

New Around Here
Hi SNB Family,

i am new to SNB Forums and already have a couple of questions for your ideas regarding my Home-Network and Office-Network connection. In the picture below you can see how both networks should look like. In both networks are routers that organise the network via simple DHCP. No DNS or anything else.

Home Connection is 125mbit/12,5mbit cable (same Provider as Office)
Office Connection is 75mbit/15mbit cable (same Provider as Home)

Home Router (10) at home is a Linksys EA6400 with Linksys Firmware.
Office Router (21) is an ASUS RT16N running WRT.
Office Switch (20) is now a Smart-Managed TP-Link TL-SG2210P and some clients are connected on the router because the TP-Link has only 8 Ports.
Home Switch (9) is some cheap D-Link crap.

What i need is:
Both networks can contact each client of each side with reasonable speed. Specially the Sip Home Phones (6) and (7) must be able to communicate and be connected with the Office PBX (19). Internet traffic should not be routed through the tunnel but through the internet connection at each point.
Office Sip Phones (12) (16) should be powered by POE
Qnap in Office should be connected with BOTH NICs with port-trunking.
iPhones and macbooks should be able to connect to each network with OpenVPN or L2TP.

What i guess:
Changing both Routers (10) (21) with VPN capable Routers should work. But wich devices should i choose for my needs?
I should replace the Home Switch (9) with the office switch (20) and install a TP Tl-SG10 (not sure if 802.3ad is supported) or Netgear FS728TLP switch in the office