What's new

home network upgrade suggestions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

kitkat12012

New Around Here
I'm planning on upgrading my home network and I was wondering if you guys can give me some ideas.

Goals:
My goal for this upgrade is to get better network coverage (wired, powerline, or wireless) and a fairly fast and stable throughput.

Current setup:
I have a WRT54GL with the Tomato firmware, 1 wired client, and a couple of wireless clients. We have DSL so the router is placed in the only room with a phone jack which is located on one end of the house (let's call this the North Side). The house has two floors. Distance between North and South sides is about 3 average sized rooms (sorry I'm not good with distance estimation). Wireless coverage between floors is not a problem. Wireless coverage from East to West is also not a problem.

Current problems:
Wireless on the opposite side of the house is unstable (let's call this the South Side). My room is located in this far end. My PS3 cannot hold a connection for more than an hour without dropping. PC in this same room is fine, although this PC has a fairly new wireless adapter. Ipod touch in this same room cannot get a wireless signal at all.

Initial thoughts: