What's new

Home Streaming Network

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

scmeis1

New Around Here
Hi All,
I have been using smallnetbuilder for a long long time. I am gifted when it comes to Cisco and Cisco Wireless. I design them for a living, but I am a bit outside my comfort zone when it comes to home products.

Currently I own 3 Negear gs108t-100NAS switches with a Netgear FVS336G SSL VPN router and Dlink 825 wireless router.

I have tried for days to get this lan to work. The 3 biggest things it needs to do are:

1) Stream HI-def movies to any one of my big screen Tv's. I have Intel Dual NIC's that are teamed on every HTPC I have, and the Movie Storage server.

2) I own a CCIE lab, and use it from other places, and let friends use it.

3) I have Uverse, and I run it through my Switches.

ISSUES: the Netgear switches I own now, constantly drop traffic. That is fine for the internet, I am fine with Best effort prioritizing. The TV's constantly lock up. I have tried every combo of 100/Full, 1000/full, auto/auto, DSCP, flow control, nothing has solved the TV's from freezing.

I have heard there is an issue with the latest firmware on the gs108T-100NAS switches and when VLAN's are added it causes them issues.

Ok - What I need is to upgrade the switches. The SSL VPN firewall rocks, just fantastic piece of equipment. The DLINK-825 wireless router kicks butt too. I bought after reviewing it on here.

1) I want on 12-16 port main switch
2) 4x (5-8 port) switches.
3) All must be able to handle VLAN's, and trunking (802.1q)
4) Spanning-tree (802.1d, or 802.1w) are fine.
5) SFP based is not something I would consider at the moment. The SFP's are usually more expensive then the switch.