What's new

how come ?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

ozgurcnbyz

Regular Contributor
i am a software developer working at a global mobile telcom company. Since most of my colleagues are network engineers i talked to them before deciding on a home router. Thats how i found out about Asus routers. i checked each model and the most expensive one was the ac66u (ac68 hadnt shipped on that date).
So i got myself the ac66u and i am very happy with this model. Recently i came across with the ac56u one. its 70 usd cheaper than the ac66u in where i live. one thing i find strange is the fact that ac56u has faster cpu and have usb 3.0 . also because of the cpu type ac66u doesnt support time machine yet while ac56u does. as a consumer i havent seen anything like that before. an older model has better specs (other than the wifi speed). i dont understand why on earth Asus following this strategy on SKU's.

ac56u is actually a newer model than ac66u, the ac56u is only 2X2 AC1200 so it has poorer wifi specs than the ac66u.

As cmillar is saying. You might be confusing the RT-N56U with the RT-AC56U - two totally different products. The RT-N56U is an older product.

no i am not confusing. as a matter of fact i thought 66 would be newer than the 56. still their strategy don't make sense. a newer model is cheaper and wifi specs are not as good. seriously weird. anyways would you recommend buying the ac56u instead ? would i lose any performance in wifi range and throughput ?

Last edited:
Two different product lines.

RT is ROUTER

AC = ARM

N = MIPS

N56, N66, NXX is not the same as AC56, AC68

U/R is irrelevant

Hope that helps

The specs are difference due to the platform and development of them.