What's new

How do I configure a switch so that the devices connected to it get IP from the router?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Protik

Hi all,

I have overgrown my number of devices that I can connect to my AC68U running Merlin's 384.13. So going to buy a GS305E switch. In terms of networking knowledge, I am a noob. So I need your help.

How do I configure the switch so that the devices connect to the switch get IP from the router?

My configuration would be:

Code:
                NAS
               /
              /
AC68U -- GS305E ---- TV
              \
               \
              Shield TV

I know this is not strictly related to Merlin, but I thought this situation should be resonate with a lot of members here.

See the installation guide that comes with the switch (or download it). Basically you plug it in and it works. If you want to do anything more complicated refer to the user guide.

See the installation guide that comes with the switch (or download it). Basically you plug it in and it works. If you want to do anything more complicated refer to the user guide.

Thanks. I actually was looking into it. But the problem is I don't know the technical term for what I want to do. So it's kinda getting nowhere.

IIRC, that switch comes configured as a standard switch. Just plug it in, connect the network cables and it should just all work. The switch will just pass traffic, including DHCP requests, and any reserved addresses on the LAN will be handed out as usual.

But the problem is I don't know the technical term for what I want to do.