Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

How do i enter my homenetwork from outside?

Discussion in 'Other LAN and WAN' started by Andyhs, Nov 18, 2017.

  1. Andyhs

    Andyhs Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Hi all,

    i've got a server with ProxMox installed. In ProxMox i've installed a virtual Windows Server 2016. Windows Server 2016 got an internal IP. If i want to access that IP from outside i need to portforward to that IP lets say the Windows Server 2016 is using 192.168.1.78. then i need to enter my Ubiquiti Edgerouter X and portforward this IP. But i live in a flat with 100 others, where we getting our Internet from a ISP that supplies all flats. (when i look up my External IP i've got the same IP as my neighbor) How do i forward so it knows that its my server in my flat that should had access?
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,026
    Location:
    UK
    Then it can't be public IP address because they must be unique (otherwise the internet wouldn't work).

    Is your "external" IP address 10.x.x.x, 172.x.x.x or 192.168.x.x ? If so then you will have to ask your ISP to give you a real public IP address.
     
  3. Andyhs

    Andyhs Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    15

    Okay...

    My router is getting a IP address that is 10.20.0.1 - I think it is the router from our local router placed in the x-field in the basement. But when I look up my public IP address it’s the same my neighbor got. How that can be I don’t know? But also when I make a portscan all ports are closed. I think the router in the basement is set up not to tell if any request about ports are coming
     
  4. don_bidyre

    don_bidyre New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    It sounds like the shared router in the basement is acting as the Internet facing router for the whole building & contains its own NATing firewall.
    Therefore all traffic from your building will share a single Internet IP.
    To enable inbound connections, you would need to configure port forwarding on both your own router & the shared one. So for example, if you configured your own router to forward port 1000 from its external interface to your servers RDP port, you'd then need to configure the shared router to forward one of its own external ports to your routers address on port 1000 & then to use it remotely, you'd have to target the shared routers forwarded port.
    However, rather than accessing your server directly, I'd rather configure a VPN on your router. You'd still need to set up port forwarding on the shared router to access your VPN, but then you'd have a secure connection into your home network through which you could connect to your server.
     
  5. Andyhs

    Andyhs Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    15

    Ah, okay, when i type in the IP 10.20.0.1 i've got a login page for a ZYXEL USG2200-VPN unit. But.... I don't got access to that, only the IT Admin is allow to enter that, and that is a company outside. I tried to talk to the board at home, but they say i'ts not possible to access your unit from outside the network on they line... So it sounds like i can't access it from outside.

    What about iLO4 is it possible to run that outside my network? right now i've got an internal IP 192.168.1.xx for iLO4.
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,026
    Location:
    UK
    Same problem. You need to get your ISP to forward the ports to your local network.

    Try asking your ISP if they can put you in their DMZ.
     
  7. Andyhs

    Andyhs Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    The bad thing is, that they won't because it is a private board ISP we got here in our appartment area.

    is't there a way to go round about this problem? I mean TeamViewer works fine, but that is because they connect to a server, and the target server is connecting to a server, right?
     
  8. don_bidyre

    don_bidyre New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    If you can't get an inbound connection, you'd need to establish an outbound connection rather like you do for teamviewer. Trouble is, you'd normally only open a teamviewer session when needed. If you want to be able to access your server remotely whenever you want, you'd need to establish an outbound session permanently & effectively trust the service you connect to with the keys to your server & network.
    I wouldn't feel comfortable doing that
     
  9. Andyhs

    Andyhs Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    What if i setting up a VPN server on the server, would that made any different? or should i still manage the routers in the basement ?
     
  10. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,026
    Location:
    UK
    No.
     
  11. Andyhs

    Andyhs Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Damn, okay, thanks !
     

Share This Page