What's new

How do I forward to another DHCP Server?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

JHanks64

New Around Here
I have been using DD-WRT on Asus RT-N16 routers for a few years happily.
Now I have some clients with 300MB Comcast Business server and the RT-N16 won't go that fast it seems.
So, after research, I found the RT-AC66U_B1 routers. My first attempt to install DD-WRT bricked it, so I keep looking around and found Asuswrt-Merlin. So far, I'm very happy with it.

One thing I frequently did with DD-WRT is forward the DHCP to the company server and not use the router DHCP. I can't find where to do that in Asuswrt-Merlin.

Thanks for any help - searching for DHCP Forward resulted in pages of threads which didn't appear to be what I was looking for.

DHCP forwarding to where? Out the WAN? Or to another DHCP server on the same LAN? Because if it's the latter, forwarding is unnecessary. If it's the former, I don't see the option either.

Also, as an aside, I've never actually seen an ASUS router that was literally bricked. Seen a few that *appeared* to be bricked, but always recoverable w/ enough persistence, thanks to restore mode. In fact, just the other day, for the first time, I had to open an old ASUS WL-500gP v2 router and short pin 9 on the flash to fix what appeared to be a bricked router. Good as new. I find these ASUS routers are very hard to brick.

Yes, DHCP to the local server running DHCP and DNS servers. It does seem to work, but I have always did it that way with DD-WRT and couldn't find the same setting in Merlin.