What's new

How do I switch to 5 GHz only?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Hi all,
Newbie here! Trying to work out how I know if my router is at 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or both.

I bought the D900 66U based on reviews and recommendations and have found it fast and a great improvement on the previous router. I upgraded because I am now running a Legato Eyetv on my MacBook Pro and iPad2. The iPad couldn't play recordings or video on the MacBook under the old router. It can with the ASUS.

Today the live tv option developed a stutter just like it had under the old router. It was working before! Interference? I thought it was a possibility so wondered if the ASUS could be switched to run 5 GHz only.

Logging into the router, I couldn't see anything simple that said: you are in 2.4 or 5 or dual. Nor could I see any screen or option to run in 5 only. I might be dense and missed it but I did look all around at every tab, and had someone look with me.

I am not very knowledgable in routers, I know the basics. I googled but couldn't find anything to help.

Is there something there that tells me what I am running in? And how to run 5GHz only?

Running at 5 GHz might not even solve my problem but I want to eliminate 2.4 interference as the source of the problem.

Thanks in advance.
gg

Hi,
They ought to have different SSID. From connected device can show which SSID it is connected to.

I would give them different SSID's too...like tonyH said.

Make your 2.4 Ghz SSID Gadget24 and your 5 Ghz SSID Gadget5. (examples).

If you really want to disable the 2.4 Ghz radio, then click on the wireless tab, then select 2.4 Ghz, then click on "Professional Settings". Then Enable Radio = no.