Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

How to keep RT-N16 alive

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by bogolisk, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. bogolisk

    bogolisk Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Hi

    I've been using a (now unsupported) RT-N16 for 4 years. It has been very trustworthy. It's firmware is Merlin 378.50. However, I just switched ISP and going from 25Mbps plan to a 100Mbps plan.

    Speedtest with laptop connected (using Cat6) directly to the modem gives: 98.9Mbps/10.3Mbps
    Speedtest with laptop connected (using Cat6) to RT-N16, then to modem (using Cat6) gives: 66Mbps/9.5Mbps.

    Is there any option (some kind of hw offloading?) to get the RT-N16 to reach 90 Mbps, or I have to buy a new router?

    Thank you

    --
    Bogolisk
     
  2. czekker

    czekker New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    .pl
    i've got 120/10 plan.
    the modem is Cisco EPC3212.
    my RT-N16 gives 116/9.8 easy.

    ps.
    i use john9527's LTS fork - just upgraded to v374.43_2-22E2j9527
    highly recommended :D
     
    joegreat likes this.
  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23,188
    Location:
    Canada
    Make sure NAT/Hardware acceleration is enabled. Check the Tools -> Sysinfo page to validate.

    I also strongly recommend switching to John's fork, so you can get a whole bunch of security fixes that occured since that last release.
     
  4. bogolisk

    bogolisk Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    hw accel: disabled (by user) !!!! :(

    how to enable it? please!

    does QoS disables hw-accel?
     
  5. microchip

    microchip Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Belgium
    Yes. Anything that needs to inspect packets first, disables hw-accel
     

Share This Page