1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. SNBForums Code of Conduct

    SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

    Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

    The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

How to setup a VPN Server with Asus routers 384.14

Discussion in 'VPN' started by kreddad, Jan 22, 2020.

  1. kreddad

    kreddad New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Hello, everyone, I'm new to the forum, and I'm sorry if I'm posting in the wrong area, or duplicate the post
    so, I been reading from this Thread https://www.snbforums.com/threads/h...with-asus-routers-380-68-updated-08-24.33638/
    to setup Asus AC3100 with firmware 384.14.2 see the pictures for more details
    openVPN2.PNG
    I try every different setting but just not working for me getting this error :
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Patrick9876

    Patrick9876 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    I'm a complete neophyte when it comes to VPN, but since nobody else has responded, I will. I got OpenVPN running on an ASUS RT-86U (alias RT-AC2900) using the same opens you showed.

    What VPN client are you using, and on what platform? Is there a log at that end that gives any more information? The "inactivity timeout" makes it sound like the router is seeing nothing from your client.

    When I start my OpenVPN client (on Windows) I have to issue a Connect request. Is there something similar on your client? If so, what happens when you issue the request?
     
  3. kreddad

    kreddad New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    thank you for replying, I'm using OpenVPN client (https://openvpn.net/community-downloads/)on Windows 10, I'm not sure what is causing the problem
    OpenVPN log file:
     
  4. Patrick9876

    Patrick9876 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    I don't get that "Enter Management Password" prompt, but I assume that is installation-specific. What I don't see in your log that I do see in mine is a "Peer Connection initiated with ..." and connection information following it.

    Did you issue the Connection command from the OpenVPN "GUI" on Windows?
    Does the router's log show anything relating to the connection?
     
  5. doczenith1

    doczenith1 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    MI
    Did you Export OpenVPN configuration file and import into your client?