1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

How We Test Wireless Products - Revision 9

Discussion in 'Wireless Article Discussions' started by thiggins, May 25, 2016.

  1. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,751
    [​IMG]
    Our V9 wireless test process introduces new test clients and new ways of using them.

    Read on SmallNetBuilder
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2016
    CHand, tiger_liem, JClu and 3 others like this.
  2. RogerSC

    RogerSC Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,257
    This brings up a question that I've been wondering about...now that the FCC does allow the same power in the lower segment of 5GHz. channels as the upper segment of 5GHz. channels, do newer routers like the Netgear R7800 take advantage of that? Can older routers take advantage of this via new firmware, or only newer routers? Not sure if the firmware that you can flash has control over radio power or not?

    Curious about this, since you mentioned it *smile*.

    Great article on your testing methodology, by the way. Appreciate your sharing this.

    Thanks!
     
  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    29,797
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't know how programmable Qualcomm's chipsets are, but in the case of a Broadcom-based router, the router manufacturer should be able to reconfigure any available channel and output power levels by compiling a new CLM file. This contains a table with all that power configuration data, and can be either embedded in the wireless driver at compile time, or loaded externally at boot time.
     
    Weaselboy likes this.
  4. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    This makes a lot of sense, as there are so few consumer devices that are capable of more than 2x2.
     
  5. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,751
    Any changes to transmit power levels require FCC recertification. I know of no older routers that have gone through the process. Please correct me if I am wrong.

    New routers have been shipping with the new transmit power levels since the rules went into effect.
     
  6. dogzdogz

    dogzdogz New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    I'm wondering why still use Chariot for 2x2 throughput testing since you already have IxVeriwave. Shouldn't keep the test bed as similar as possible ?
     
  7. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,751
    Tbe Veriwave is a very powerful system, but has three limitations when it comes to the type of testing we do. Its input range is limited to a 10dB range from around -25 to -35dBm. So it can't be used with external programmable attenuators for rate vs. range testing.

    The second limitation is the WaveBlade does not have a mode where it automatically adjusts MCS rate in response to changes in RSSI.

    The last limitation is that it can't be band-steered, i.e. you must set the Waveblade to a specific band and channel. This last point doesn't affect throughput vs. attenuation testing, but prevents the Veriwave from being used for testing "Smart Connect" and other automatic band-steering / load balancing technologies.

    We are working with Veriwave to overcome these limitations. But for now, using a real STA was the best solution.
     
  8. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    They would have to go back thru FCC testing again - most vendors likely won't due to cost concerns (very expensive)

    It's beyond the scope of a "permissive change" which is a paperwork job... (i.e. we changed part X for part XrevB due to supply chain - form/function is same" type of thing).
     
  9. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    There is some overlap, but they do test different areas of the device.
     
  10. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Saw the D-Link review - nice shot of the chamber with the new radio antennas..

    Quick question - the tether - is that ethernet and power?

    The turntable - scripted/automated?

    Anyways, really nice setup...

    dlink_dir879_chamber.jpg
     
  11. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    It would be interesting to see power consumption at the wall socket while the device under test is being stressed hard by both the wireless and router tests.

    I've got a feeling some vendors will do a better job than others, even across the same vendor with different chipsets.
     
  12. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,751
    The "tether" is not new... check the chamber shots in past reviews. Yes, it's for power and Ethernet. The cables are run through expando sleeving to prevent getting tangled with router antennas.

    Turntable is also not new, but the platter is. Bigger than the previous one and with markings. Yes it it motor driven. This is described in the test process description.
     
  13. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I've seen the tether before in old lab shots, and assumed that it was power/network connections, but the danger is making the assumption :D
     
  14. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Tim -

    For V10 of the Wireless Test Plan - the WaveTest 20 can do load/capacity testing, and that's part of the script package - now that we're getting ever more connected - not just Computers/Tablets/Phones/STB's, but also all the InternetOfThings (smarthome, quantified self, connected car, wearables) we're going to start seeing not 10 or 20 clients on the AP, but dozens of them... and these IoT thingies, many of them pop up, attached, transmit, and then shutdown at random..

    It would be a slight modification perhaps of the MU-MIMO test plan, but scaled up a bit... this kind of relates to the discussion thread on the EA9500 - but the load/capacity aspects of a device under test, and the results would be great feedback to the vendors, and good info for potential customers.

    It the objective testing that SNB does, along with strict editorial honesty, that many come here to SmallNetBuilder - keep up the great work - much appreciated.

    (now that my nose is suitable brown :D :D :D)
     
  15. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,751
    Load / capacity / stress testing is in the works. But need to work through some challenges with Veriwave and decide on the approach.
     
  16. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    It's hard work - both for defining the test requirements, and also building the automation scripts behind it - been there myself helping out our performance test team.
     
  17. JClu

    JClu New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Hi
    From How we test wireless R9, you mention you reconfiguring the test bed to use two channels of the octoScope quadAtten as fixed attenuators. Did you mean you setup those two channels of attenuator as 0dB and use it's default attenuators as fixed atteenuator?
    Did you know the initial total path lost from station to DUT in 2.4G and 5G. I would like to calculate the max theory distance by your report.

    Thanks!


     
  18. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,751
    Two of the attenuators are set to 10dB for 2.4 GHz. The other two are adjusted to increase path loss.

    I do not have a path loss estimation for either band.
     
  19. tiger_liem

    tiger_liem Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    When will the result out?
     
  20. CHand

    CHand New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Hi,
    Do you think if the RAM and HDD of this Leveno PC will affect the test performance? I would like to buy the same one. Could you provide some information about this?( how many RAM/ HDD or SSD?) :D