What's new

HTPC+NAS+Web Surfing, etc

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

swonerd

New Around Here
Hello,

I am relatively new to the HTPC/NAS realm but am an IT-type guy. Here is what i am wanting to do:

1) Build new, dedicated work/gaming computer (not a topic for discussion here)
2) Create a DIY NAS/HTPC computer to be connected to the network to operate as a cloud storage, stream videos from all network connected devices, etc...

Recently I have thoroughly enjoyed having a PC connected to my main TV to be able to surf the web, play Youtube/music, and show pictures, etc. I have an old, clunky Dell that I could connect to my TV and would suffice for the web surfing, etc side of the house, but I am wondering if I could wrap it all into one with a DIY HTPC/NAS...If I connected the DIY NAS/HTPC to my TV, could it run Amahi, and also allow me to pull up Firefox, play YouTube videos, while also acting as my cloud storage, etc? I would be installing Amahi on a SSD, with 2x2TB HHDs RAID as the cloud storage, etc. Just wondering if I can do away with the Dell and have the Amahi machine operate not only as a NAS, but connected to the TV to play music via my stereo, watch youtube videos, etc. No gaming or anything like that.

Any help/advice you could offer would be appreciated. Thank you!

How is your PC connected to your TV? Is it a smart TV via Ethernet to laptop, or HDMI to the laptop, and the TV is just a monitor?