1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Illegal instruction for every entware app/command on RT-AC86U

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by diman82, Oct 18, 2018.

  1. diman82

    diman82 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    I get 'Illegal instruction' when running any Entware app/command.
    Trying to run the setup script generates the same error.
    The problem appeared suddenly, and I'm clueless what can be the cause.

    Anyone had the same problem before? I'm using the latest Asus Merlin firmware.
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. Xentrk

    Xentrk Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    The Land of Smiles
    Entware is installed on the USB. Do a system scan on the USD drive. You can do this form the Main Menu by selecting the USB. In the upper right, you will see an option for Health Scanner. Also, try the command opkg update and/or opkg upgrade.
     
  4. diman82

    diman82 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    opkg update/upgrade yields the same error, as fdisk command.

    Code:
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# opkg update
    Illegal instruction
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# blkid
    /dev/sda3: LABEL="downloads" UUID="01D4358BEFA4ACA0"
    /dev/sda2: LABEL="entware" UUID="a56f2e77-6519-d401-a047-2e776519d401"
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# fs
    fsck        fsck.ext2   fsck.ext3   fsck.ext4   fsck.minix  fsck_hfs    fsync
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# fsck /dev/sda2
    fsck (busybox 1.25.1, 2018-10-07 12:44:23 EDT)
    fsck: fsck.auto: No such file or directory
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# fdisk
    Illegal instruction
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root#
    
     
  5. Xentrk

    Xentrk Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    The Land of Smiles
    Looks like an issue with the USB. Run the Health Scanner on the USB.
     
  6. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    If the USB is USB3 and the router is set to USB3, switch the router to USB2.
     
  7. diman82

    diman82 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Already did - nothing found and it didn't help.
     
  8. diman82

    diman82 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    You mean switch my storage to USB2?
     
  9. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,293
    put stick on USB3.0 port, go to network map, click on USB3.0 icon and change it to USB2.0.
    Or use USB2.0 port ...
     
  10. diman82

    diman82 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Interestingly, it has already been selected on 'USB2.0' port. Changed it to USB3.0, but it didn't change a thing..
    Tried to run entware-setup.sh and this is the output:

    Code:
     =>  Do you wish to install the 64bit version? (y/n) y
     Info:  Installing the 64bit version.
    
     Info:  Looking for available partitions...
    Illegal instruction
     *** Error:  No ext2|ext3|ext4 partitions available. Exiting...
    
     
  11. TeHashX

    TeHashX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    952
    Location:
    Europe
    My guess is you installed somehow entware for another cpu arch, try to remove entware folder from usb or formatt the drive, reboot router and try to install again.
    I didn't specify router model and firmware version.
     
    diman82 likes this.
  12. diman82

    diman82 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Complete partition format, and reinstall WORKED!!
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!