What's new

I’m terrified and am so hoping someone can help me

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

SAP Brian

New Around Here
Hello all, I am posting today desperately hoping to get some advice and direction on how to eradicate what I’m fairly certain is referred to as an Advanced Threat infection I found 3 months ago on my home network.

I’m an independent SAP applications consultant who has been practicing for 20 years with the previous 10 years logged at various consulting and software companies. I have a passion for watching a client’s eyes light up when they “get” something I explain that finally clicks with them. I get joy from the short thank you emails I receive and I have been so very fortunate to have clients who have been with me for upwards to 10 years.

In short, I have been very fortunate, but i have also been foolish. While I have a strong technical background in mainframe/JCL/SQL/COBOL programming, I got lazy about 10 years ago. I fell into that trap of doing well and advancing organizationally but at the expense of staying current with technology. I chose instead to focus more on my personal life and less on keeping up with the emerging technology advancements and especially the risks that come with them.

I realized what a mistake very soon after August 10th at 6:30 pm when something went crazy with my laptop and it started changing file permissions and extracting all of my personal photos, videos, as well as my client files without any input from me. It then deleted most of my personal and professional email accounts. I didn’t know what hit me.