What's new

Is it Possible to limit OpenVPN connect time?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

btsucker

Occasional Visitor
Hi,

I am using 386.11 Merlin on RT-AC66U B1. I enable the VPN server1 on my router.
Is it possible to limited the connection time for security reason?
For example, It will force to disconnect the client after 5 mins no mater if it's still using or not.
I only need to use my home ip in some verification situation. so I don't need to keep the link very long.
If it is possible, please enlighten me.

I am a newbie and not a English native speaker.
If I need to run any script please tell me how to do it.
Thank you very much.

If you're using the VPN, and then you don't need it on anymore for whatever reason... can't you just turn it off in the Asus Merlin UI?

If you're using the VPN, and then you don't need it on anymore for whatever reason... can't you just turn it off in the Asus Merlin UI?

the reason I need to setup a VPN server in my router is that I want to let my family member or friends to use the ip for verification purpose. It usually just need for a very short period of time and it's hard to control when they will need it. So I wish I could just auto disconnect them after couple mins. just in case they forgot or any other security reason. Manually turning it off is not very practical. I hope you understand my situation.