What's new

Is it time for new router?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Have Asus AC5300 router and wondering if it's time to get a new router?

• Total voters

MielleWb

Occasional Visitor
Hello all,
Pretty much a noob here but like to read and always fascinated by networking. I have the ASUS AC 5300 and just wanted to get a sense of what the pros, i.e., you folks, think maybe it's time for new router. I set up a poll so hopefully it won't take much time to reply. Regardless, thanks to those that do reply and to all for sharing your vast expertise in networking. Special shoutout to Merlin who has helped me tremendously over the years, Thanks Merlin!

Hello all,
Pretty much a noob here but like to read and always fascinated by networking. I have the ASUS AC 5300 and just wanted to get a sense of what the pros, i.e., you folks, think maybe it's time for new router. I set up a poll so hopefully it won't take much time to reply. Regardless, thanks to those that do reply and to all for sharing your vast expertise in networking. Special shoutout to Merlin who has helped me tremendously over the years, Thanks Merlin!
The only reason why you would want to upgrade is because of WiFi-6 but if you don't have such devices in your home, i would say stick with what you got untill you actually have the need to upgrade.

The only reason why you would want to upgrade is because of WiFi-6 but if you don't have such devices in your home, i would say stick with what you got untill you actually have the need to upgrade.
Thank you exactly what I needed to hear. I have no wifi 6 so I'm good with the 5300. Thanks again!