1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Issues with latest Blue Cave firmware?

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by ST13, Mar 28, 2020.

  1. ST13

    ST13 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Hi everyone.

    I've had a Blue Cave for a few years now and despite what seem like mixed results for some its been rock solid for me and better performing than the 68u it replaced. In other words, I was really happy with it.

    That is until the new firmware came out this month - 3.0.0.4.384.46417
    It brought what appears some critical fixes including DNS exploit plugging and other improvements. After I installed it would consistently drop the connection overnight and only a continuous modem and router power recycle got it going again (not just a router reboot).

    Kept going like that for a few days and finally decided to downgrade back to 3.0.0.4.384.45708 (release before last).

    Has anyone else experienced similar issues with the latest firmware? I'd love to be able to run with all the security fixes that come with it but at least from my perspective something seems seriously wrong with it.

    Any thoughts?

    Ty!
     
    Klueless likes this.
  2. Eric1968

    Eric1968 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Hi

    Same here.
    Did the firmware update yesterday, Blue Cave wouldn't restart properly, had to reset/ reboot several times. Then I couldn't finalize configuration in the Web UI, no response when setting up the SSID. Finally managed using my phone (!). And what a nasty surprise, the network map landing page showed zoomed in with no access to the different sections. Tried different browsers, cleared caches, changed from Mac to PC... Nothing... Got in eventually bypassing the default landing page using "http://router.asus.com/TrafficAnalyzer_Statistic.asp"... Thought this was over but no... Transferring files to my USB 3 SSD attached to the Blue Cave went really slow and even crashed the Finder.... That was it!
    I reverted Firmware to the ASUSWRT-Merlin latest release and I'm back to normal with even added features...
    What a painful experience, in confinement with kids asking every 5 mn when Internet is coming back :)...
     
    L&LD likes this.
  3. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,136
    Merlin firmware for BlueCave router? I think even himself doesnt know that he is doing this.
     
  4. Klueless

    Klueless Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    903
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I just wanted to thank you for this. I "almost" updated, if it wasn't for your post I would have. I suspect you saved me from hours of frustration?

    I also like my Blue Cave, it just works. Even better my wife likes its looks (it's not some creepy space alien looking thing with horns and stuff : -) As a result she let me move it off the floor and out of the corner so now we get decent range/performance throughout the house.
     
    ST13 likes this.
  5. Eric1968

    Eric1968 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    5
  6. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,136
    Its not Merlin, but some chinese fork using parts of Merlin.
     
    L&LD likes this.
  7. Eric1968

    Eric1968 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    surely...I'm not an expert... but it works.
     
  8. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,755
    Location:
    USA
    L&LD likes this.
  9. jg45

    jg45 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Is anyone else not able to adjust the QOS settings with the latest firmware (3.0.0.4.384.46417) for the Blue Cave? In addition to the reboot not reconnecting to WAN, I have found that I cannot do anything with the QOS settings through the routers web admin.
     
  10. spurdog

    spurdog New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    I also have exactly the same issues with my bluecave and the latest firmware. Also I have an issue with streamining 4k video over a wired connection. The stream constantly freezes for several seconds and makes the films unwatchable. I use direct play and the films are ripped to MKV passthrough. (however, if I connect via a switch then the films run just fine.) I dont have this issue with my RT AC 87U, which I have now put back in operation due to the Bluecave issues.

    John
     
  11. D2theZ

    D2theZ Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Well there is another new firmware. This one supposedly fixes the QoS and network map issues but mentions nothing of the WAN problem. I upgraded and can confirm WAN still acts screwy.
     
  12. jg45

    jg45 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    It fixed the ability to save the traditional QoS settings, but seems to have caused other issues with QoS. Now running a speedtest with QoS enabled is less than half of what it is with QoS disabled. At the same time, one of the CPU cores maxes out and I think that could be the limit.
    Also, what happened to Adaptive QoS? It was in the firmware prior to 3.0.0.4.384.46417.
    One final thing I noticed is that the changes I had to make for the last firmware to reconnect to the internet after a reboot, I had to revert back to get this firmware to reconnect after a reboot.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2020
  13. jg45

    jg45 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Disregard it fixing the reboot issue. It did not.
     
  14. bluefoxreg

    bluefoxreg New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Its the latest firmwares, both

    3.0.0.4.384.46468 and 3.0.0.4.384.46417

    has this issue where if the router reboots/restarts/upgrades/scheduled restart, the WAN would become disconnect.

    To manually fix the issue, you can simiply visit your router's WAN settings, and click save settings (with nothing changed). This apperently fixed the WAN and everything goes back to normal.

    http://router.asus.com/Advanced_WAN_Content.asp

    If your connection or the lease is short/not stable, I'm using an older version of the firmware, which seems to be able to reconnect after restart. 3.0.0.4.384.45708

    Here's the asus official link that you can get all the firmware. I suggest you download all the ones you needed before you try flashing, save your configurations before trying

    https://www.asus.com/Networking/Blue-Cave/HelpDesk_BIOS/
     
  15. jg45

    jg45 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Version 3.0.0.4.384.45708 seemed to be really stable and worked well. The only reason I updated was because of the vulnerabilities the new ones said they fixed. I'm finding more issues with this latest around time blocks for devices. Added to the other issues, I am considering rolling back to the 45708 version.
     
  16. Martin Winiger

    Martin Winiger New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    I am using the next version of the firmware 3.0.0.4.384_46468 on two blue caves (AImesh setup). The WAN issue remains. I fix it by unplugging and repluggin the WAN cable, like with the previous firmware versions. I hope ASUS will fix this soon. Will report this to them today.
     
    ricky124 likes this.
  17. ricky124

    ricky124 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    I am not sure what Asus did but they upgraded in the firmware and then broke something along the way. Since, I don’t have auto restarts, once I get it going I leave the router as is. However, it is a troublesome when I have restart both of my router & modem, and troubleshoot them to get them in sync to work.
     
  18. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,755
    Location:
    USA
    Boot your modem first. Then your router. That makes a difference here sometimes.

    OE
     
  19. DH32

    DH32 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Now that I think of it, I was also having issues with the modem/Internet when upgrading to 3.0.0.4.384.46417. I think that I finally rebooted the modem, and then the Blue Cave, then it was ok. I remember rebooted one more time after just to be sure. Upgraded to 3.0.0.4.384.46468 couple days ago, and yeah, wouldn't connect to the modem/Internet.

    Another is that there is no easy way to check on the guest wireless devices. You have to use the wireless log to match the DHCP leases.
     
  20. rakali

    rakali New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    I am surprised this doesn't have more coverage. I also had to revert after updating and tearing my hair out for a couple of days.

    Have you guys contacted ASUS? How do you go about reporting?

    I am not brave enough to install the chinese merlin...