What's new

Learning SSH which Connective Tool?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

GoldWing

Regular Contributor
  1. Which SSH Connective Tool do you suggest to connect to a Asus Router from either Windows or a Linux PC?
  2. Is there any tutorials for your answer to question #1?
I have dabbled a little with OpenSSH on Windows 10 with OpenSSH unsuccessfully. Before jumping all in to learn I thought that it would be good ideal to start with the proper tool. Since I'm a newbie, I am not asking the question to create any huge debate. I'm just asking the question from an honest perspective of a newbie.

I've tried OpenSSH installed in Windows per https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/w...ion/openssh/openssh_install_firstuse?tabs=gui and https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/hpc/How-To-Use-SSH-Client-and-Server-on-Windows-10-1470/.

From the Microsoft link I know GitHub has various OpenSSH beta version releases located at https://github.com/PowerShell/Win32-OpenSSH not knowing which version would be the best to start with, or whether another software package would be better from a longer term perspective. From my experience the different versions operate with different parameters such as where the source files are kept which for a newbie can create more questions then one is trying to answer. From dabbling on Windows IIRC the client or server determines the direction of the connection. From my dabbling experience I thought that I'd ask the more experiences users the above questions would be helpful from a newbie perspective.

Thanks!

GoldWing

I also use PuTTY on Windows, but recent versions of Windows should have a built-in SSH client:

I also use PuTTY on Windows, but recent versions of Windows should have a built-in SSH client: