1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Linksys WRT-1900ACS Reviewed

Discussion in 'Wireless Article Discussions' started by RMerlin, Oct 8, 2015.

  1. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,226
    Location:
    Canada
  2. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,226
    Location:
    Canada
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 8, 2015
    RTN likes this.
  3. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,990
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Sounds like a new Device - faster processor perhaps - still AC1900 class (4*4:3) - if it follows the other WRT1900's (and WRT1200), should be a good performer..
     
  4. Irken Skoodge

    Irken Skoodge New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    It Looks like it has the same Marvell Armada 38X cpu and 512MB of ram as the v2 but it seems the cpu is clocked higher at 1.6 vs 1.3 on the v2 model.
     
  5. nagle3092

    nagle3092 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    204
    Look like just a cpu speed bump from the V2. 3 revisions in 18 months.
     
  6. RTN

    RTN Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    88
  7. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,789
    Review should be up later today. Test results are in the charts. Disappointing 2.4 GHz performance, similar to the WRT1200AC. No wonder, because it's the same board with all four RF chains loaded.
     
    sm00thpapa and RTN like this.
  8. Zoldyck

    Zoldyck New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Is the new wrt1900acs better than wrt1900ac version2?

    I just bought the v2 and was wondering if it is worth the trouble to rma and get the newer model.
     
  9. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,226
    Location:
    Canada
    At a first glance, it's a faster CPU, and more RAM. Both of which are particularly useful if you use the router for:

    1) Sharing a disk (more RAM = more cacheing)
    2) Run a VPN server or client
    3) Tinker with OpenWRT

    For wireless, as Tim indicated, it seems there isn't much change.
     
  10. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,226
    Location:
    Canada
    Too many errors on Wikidevi, I try not to rely to much on it. For example, it reports the CPU used by the new Synology router as being single-core. And I can tell you there are quite a few facts that are wrong on their Asus next-gen models ;)
     
    RTN likes this.
  11. nagle3092

    nagle3092 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    204
    The v2 actually has 512mb of ram as well so this seems just to be a cpu spec bump.

    This is from the sysinfo page on my V2.

    Code:
    Mem: 99744K used, 410256K free, 0K shrd, 0K buff, 22552K cached
    
     
  12. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,226
    Location:
    Canada
    Another article which had the specs wrong then, as they said this new model had double the RAM.

    I wish bloggers stopped pretending to be journalists. Sigh.
     
    Nullity likes this.
  13. nagle3092

    nagle3092 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    204
    There does seem to be alot of confusion around these units, Linksys isnt helping this though either. The V2 boxes they bumped the cpu speed to display the correct frequency of 1.3 but left the ram showing 256mb on the box. But if you go to the sysinfo page it displays the correct amount, which is the same as the wrt1200ac (that also has 512mb).

    Now they are releasing this unit. I dont think Linksys is doing any favors to their users pumping out so many revisions.
     
  14. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,747
    So now people with V1 and V2 will have a brick with no future firmware updates.
     
  15. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,990
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Keep in mind that V1 did get a bump earlier this summer with OpenVPN and a number of bug fixes to bring it to V2 spec.
     
    sm00thpapa likes this.
  16. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,226
    Location:
    Canada
    IMHO, the V2 shouldn't even exist. Not with this new model with an actual different model name coming out so soon after, and having an actual new SKU rather than just a cryptic "V2", which has always been highly confusing for Linksys customers (don't we all remember the WRT54G days, with its 8 or 9 revisions?)
     
  17. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,226
    Location:
    Canada
    I believe Linksys already said they were committed into long-term support for that model. This is really no different from other manufacturers who also release a new flagship router every 12 months.
     
  18. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,747
    I think there should be some type of trade in program with revisions being released so close together.
     
  19. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,789
    RTN and sm00thpapa like this.
  20. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,990
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    The 2.4GHz numbers are pretty low compared to the V1, which is pretty strange...

    I trust the testing. No question there...