What's new

Logging and reviewing user traffic that bypass OpenDNS

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

bunty

New Around Here
Hello All:
I am fairly new to networking, so pardon my ignorance.
I have ASUS RT N66U with merlin firmware. I am using OpenDNS and its setup to route all DNS queries through router using information provided at: https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-merlin/wiki/Iptables-tips.
Is it possible to log and/or review all user requests (particularly port 80 and 443 requests) through the router? I am particularly interested in reviewing all calls using IP address that bypass OpenDNS.
Other related question is if it’s possible to block all requests/URLs that are not possible with DNS. Though this is not ideal, I would like to know if it’s possible.
Thanks for the help.
Bunty

Is it possible to log and/or review all user requests (particularly port 80 and 443 requests) through the router? I am particularly interested in reviewing all calls using IP address that bypass OpenDNS.

The only way I know of to do this with the Merlin firmware (or practically every firmware out there but Tomato), is to use a syslog parser like WallWatcher. I honestly don't know if wallwatcher will still work with the Merlin firmware but there is always a chance Merlin may pop in and give us a Yay/Nay on it.

Other related question is if it’s possible to block all requests/URLs that are not possible with DNS. Though this is not ideal, I would like to know if it’s possible.
Thanks for the help.
Bunty
Not really sure what this question is.
If you block port 53 in the firewall, then the only way clients could get a DNS request is via the router itself.

Why would it be needed though if you already have redirected lookups?