What's new

Looking to add a NAS to our network and have some questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

emoaloha

New Around Here
Hello. I'm a newbie to the concept of NAS, or really to anything more advanced than basic router and network setup.

My husband and I would like to add a networked storage device that can be accessed wirelessly so that we can share files, primarily photos, video, and audio. I work primarily off an Android tablet, and occassionally off a work issued laptop for which I cannot have Administrative privlegdes. My husband works primarily from a new MacBook, but also from Windows 7 machines. We've read a lot of various NAS configurations and it seems this is a good option for us, especially hoping we can connect the NAS to our TV, stereo, or BluRay.

So here's the questions...
1. Do we need a new router to get efficient use from the NAS? We are currently running from the router issued by our ISP. We can stream video and audio from the web without any hiccups, but wonder if it will be sufficient with the NAS. I am not terribly worried about over-the-net transfer speed, nor can I upgrade to anything faster than the 11 Mbp/s we currently have. I'm primarily considering within the network transfer speed or other capabilites we may need that aren't available from our ISP provided router. Its a Pace 4111N, in case that's helpful. At most we'd have two streams going at once.