1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Lost internet (Comcast was down) all Wifi disconnected

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Debu, Aug 17, 2019.

  1. Debu

    Debu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Hi,

    So I have a AC5300 running Merlin 384.13.
    It has been very stable and can do anything I need it to do.

    Yesterday we lost internet from Comcast Xfinity. I couldn't even log into the router. Wireless or by wire.
    It was like it was trying so hard to connect that maybe it was using all the CPU? No wireless devices could connect. I reset my modem. I reset the router. I also connected my Mac directly to the modem and it couldn't get an Ip address from comcast so I know it was on their end. So why would the router disconnect everything and not even allow local traffic to flow?

    I've seen this happen in the past but only when for a few minutes when Comcast when down for a short time.
    Any thoughts?

    Edit: Just wanted to make sure this was clear, I lost my WAN because comcast went down. And all my wifi and wired devices could not connect back to my router.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2019
  2. Swistheater

    Swistheater Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,210
    Location:
    Florida
    This sounds like dhcp failure due to wan going down. I've seen this happen, usually requires a reboot(even though internet will still be down).
     
  3. Debu

    Debu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Hi Swistheater,

    I went WAN and set DHCP query frequency to Normal instead of aggressive.
    Will this help?
     
  4. Swistheater

    Swistheater Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,210
    Location:
    Florida
    it may help only way to know is to test it. Some isp function better with these types of adjustments.