What's new

Low priority Login/Authentication issue/quark.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

paperblankets

New Around Here
Hi, First off, I've been using Asuswrt-Merlin for quite a few years now and wanted to say thanks to @RMerlin
for all the hard work that has been put into keeping some older, but fully functional if not competitive hardware running very well (Not to mention the constant stream of updates in response to CVEs).

Anyway the reason for this post, is once a year or so, when I roll passwords I end up locking myself out of my router due to a mix of stupidity, and user experience.

The Advanced System Content screen does not list username and password requirements for the user account, which results in me entering a dicephrase username that is over the maximum 20 characters, and a password that is over the maximum 16 characters.
After this, panic ensues as I attempt to figure out what I did. This only seems to happen every 1 in 12 times, but I have to imagine it happens to others too.

Some extra information around the the username and password fields in the Advanced System Content screen could go a long way I think (Without the complicated effort of building some custom widget around the fields that could cause its own issues). If this quark is worth a change or is fine as is, thanks for all the hard work!

I'll see if limitations could be displayed on the page.