1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

MOCA network verification?

Discussion in 'MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA' started by Pennsylvania Guy, May 21, 2020 at 9:22 AM.

Tags:
  1. Pennsylvania Guy

    Pennsylvania Guy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    5
    Hi All,
    I am just jumping into MOCA and am not sure if I am implementing it properly. Can someone have a look at my network diagram and let me know if it will work?


    upload_2020-5-21_9-22-4.png


    Any help is appreciated!!
     
    sd70mac likes this.
  2. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,490
    It should work if all the splitters are capable of passing MOCA frequencies. The shown needs to block MOCA from being back fed into the CATV's network. You need to buy a filter for this purpose if the cable company hasn't already installed one in your DEMARC.
     
  3. Pennsylvania Guy

    Pennsylvania Guy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate it!

    I wasn't sure if the signal to my cable modem (DOSCIS 3.1) and MOCA could coexist in the same cable or not.

    Yes I have considered a POE filter and MOCA rated splitters. The filter is shown in the diagram but I should have shown some details of the splitters in hindsight.
     
  4. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,490
    Don't confuse POE (Power Over Ethernet ) with MOCA. I'm not even sure that there is such a thing as a POE filter and if there is it wouldn't be used on coaxial cable.
     
    sd70mac likes this.
  5. degrub

    degrub Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,066
    Are you using cable for internet only or do you have tv and other ?
    I think there can be overlap between the gocoax which uses all 5 channels of moca and a docsis 3.1 modem depending on what channels the cable co is using. There was another thread here with gocoax about a similar issue.

    if only internet, put the modem in the basement and run an all moca 2.5 cable system. Simpler.
     
    sd70mac likes this.
  6. sd70mac

    sd70mac New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    In the context of MoCA, POE means Point of Entry, although I agree that it is confusing and unclear.