1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

My Cisco WAP581 using DFS Channels

Discussion in 'General Wireless Discussion' started by coxhaus, Oct 19, 2019.

  1. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,098
    Location:
    texas
    Is the any reason not to use the DFS channels? The only not crowded 5GHz channels around me now are DFS channels. My Cisco WAP581 seem to be working fine and fast on the DFS channels.

    A problem I have with my Windows 10 laptop is if I share the non-DFS channels then my laptop will auto switch to 2.4GHz sometimes even though I have in my Intel AC7260 drivers to use 5GHz. It is frustrating to drop down in speed to 2.4GHz. I sit on the wall by my neighbors 5GHz network. Kind of in between their 5GHz network and my 5GHz network. If I use the DFS channels I don't see this problem with my laptop.
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,587
    Location:
    UK
    I have only experienced two possible reasons not to use DFS.

    1) Not all clients support DFS.

    2) If you're near an airport the router may periodically detect RADAR transmissions and automatically switch to another channel, usually channel 36. This is usually more inconvenient than just using a non-DFS channel of your own choosing.
     
  3. degrub

    degrub Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    908
  4. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,098
    Location:
    texas
    I have been using DFS channels for over a week now and I not seen a problem. I don't have any slowdowns or stops so I guess I am OK?
     
  5. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,240
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    For the most part - DFS is fine - clients in those channels need to be:

    a) capable of using those channels - I have a couple of clients that don't support them
    b) passive discovery - in DFS, the clients cannot actively probe, so longer to find the AP's if single band

    Performance should be the same as non-DFS