What's new

My TEW-633GR has a RealTek switch

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Fuzzilla

New Around Here
Hi all,

Long time lurker first time poster. :) I think I may have something to contribute, I searched & I could not find it here so I thought I'd chime in.
My new TRENDnet TEW-633GR does not have the Vitesse VSC7385 chipset. The router is a TEW-633GR/A HW:V1.1R.
Instead it has a RealTek RTL8366SR. In fact, the board design & surface mount components appear to be exactly the same as the SMC SMCWGBR14-N Barricade N ProMax, minus the components for the USB port.

Is this a good thing? As I am a Noob I have no clue.

And, thanks to SmallNetBuilder & it's members contributions who made my choice for a router a lot easier.

EDIT: I'm told this is already a topic, please delete this if you wish.

Last edited:
Thread could be merged with this one.

Out of curiosity, what's the FCC ID of the 1.1 version? The original was a rebadge; it'd be interesting to see if they went with another ODM, or slipped a revision through without reapplying to the FCC.

FCC ID:s9ztew633gr

FWIW the CE ID:0560

HTH

EDIT: So is there a preference between the Vitesse and RealTek chipsets?

Last edited: