What's new

N55U holding up well... But thinking of upgrading to 68U or 86U

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

FadgewackeR

Regular Contributor
Morning folks.

Not been a member of the forum long, but so far found lots of useful information here, so thanks for all the collective intelligence being spread about.

I'm a networking novice, yet tech savvy, with very basic linux capabilities.

I live in a fairly rural location, but in a new build house that has been missed out of the fibre roll out plans and given a direct exchange line (coppper) that's only capable of 15mb ADSL which wasn't realy suiting my streaming needs and being in bed with a large, faceless ISP, I had little control over the line to tweak to my needs when it got out of kilter.

I recently became aware of a local company who are doing wireless / radio broadband up to 60 d/60 u and was able to wriggle out of my contract with my current ISP, so bit the bullet and went for it. Great service from them by the way - BeeLine Broadband

So my current WAN --> 30dn 15up (60/60 is still expensive, but my line is capable) Connection, when throttled marginally is A rated across the board over at DSLReports.

Router is a DSL-N55U (wan into one of the 4 ethernet ports by setting it up as a dual WAN failover) which I've had for 4 and a half years.

Wired - PS4Pro, QNAP TS-453A-4, Devolo 9131 dLAN AV 500 Powerline Adapter

Powerline Ring - Vodafone VOIP signal booster, PS4, Panasonic GT30 Plasma, Laptop Workstation, Network Printer

Wireless - 2 x iPhone, 1 x iPad, LG65B7 OLED (would be wired but I lost my 4th ethernet for WAN in), Yamaha YSP 2700 Sound Projector, 2 x Yamaha Wx-030 Network Audio / Radio, PS3, Main Laptop and use of Ps4 remote play.