What's new

NAS solution needed for connection to Networked TV & Fast PC Backup

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Kwak750turbo

New Around Here
I’ll first start with the fact i am new to Network Attached Storage, but would like to get to grips with it as i think it’s the best solution for what i need. I’ve done as much groundwork as i can to hopefully save a lot of explanations...

My TV (a Samsung UE46D7000LU) is able to play a wide variety of video files, but it known to be very fussy with external hard drives / flash drives. I have a lot of HD video content archived on my 64bit Windows 7 Home Premium PC (Gigabit LAN) that i would like to play on the TV and this plays fine through my home network, but i don’t want to have my PC switched on guzzling power to do this. My TV will see a DNLA certified NAS so i have decided this would be a better solution.

I also want the NAS to be a backup drive for my main PC that currently has 1.5Tb storage capacity but i eventually intend to expand this to between 4Tb and 6TB. Currently i backup my data to a 1Tb Seagate Freeagent External hard drive through an Esata 3Gbs connection, so ideally I’d prefer to not have to drop the speed at which i’m able to do this.