What's new

Need advice miniPC + DAS

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

IamMesmerized

New Around Here
Hey!

Hope DAS topics are ok in NAS discussion.
Need a starting point and general beginning advice I can later explore more deeply on my own. General tips but if you have time and like to help people - more specific guidelines are very welcome.

Backstory:
I am a photographer. At end of every month I have 100-200 GB files to store on a HDD. After I finish working with photos I need to archive them on a HDD for cold storage. I don't need frequent access to archived file - at the end of every week I need to dump all the work from nvme to HDD AND just a couple of times per month I need to get some specific photos back on my nvme to work with them. At this point I don't need more layers of safety since the photos are delivered already to the client and additional copy is available in an online gallery.

I have my main workstation PC with 2 internal HDD, 1xM.2, 2xSSD. The HDD are getting full so I am designing myself a new workflow with files for soon coming future. I have also a mini PC Gigabyte GB-BACE 3160 which I wanted to utilize in this workflow as it is just gathering dust. I'm on a budget so targeting cheapest solutions and DYI.

What I was thinking off and let me know if this is doable:
Mini PC + 2 bay DAS (some ppl call that a homebrew NAS) - acting as a server to access files when I need them + maybe Home Assistant if possible since I have some smart junk via android apps (if needed it can be 24/7) + occasionally launch xbox app for cloud gaming on TV.

My main needs: