What's new

Need advice on how to choose home NAS/ storage/ backup solution.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

this

Occasional Visitor
Hi,

Total newbie here, looking for a storage/backup solution with good reliability/performance (of course).

I did read the "How to choose the right NAS" article and looked at the NAS Chart, but still need guidance for choosing the best gear/setup for my data. (Also curious - is the article outdated?)

Here's what I need to do:

Store music/media files where my partner and I can both access them for playback on our Mac computers.
Store and work on a large and growing library of photos (does not need to be shared) and some movies.
Store and work on original music files using music software (Logic Pro and others).
Have all the data backed up in a reliable secure way.

3TB is plenty of data for starters.

I’ve got a LaCie CloudBox NAS (3TB) and am currently using it to store everything, connected to our wireless router (Netgear n600) by ethernet and accessing it wirelessly from our Macs. I just changed to using an ethernet cable to connect to my iMac to improve performance (still not sure what the limits are with this performance wise).
I've found a few issues with this setup.
- File transfer/access can be slow (transferring large groups of files even crashed my iMac before I used the ethernet cable).
- Logic Pro (Mac music software) doesn't work well when files are on the NAS (it's recommended to use a connected external HD - not a NAS or internal HD - to work on music files in Logic).
- The LaCie Cloudbox doesn't have trash - when something is deleted from it, it's gone forever.