What's new

Need help turning a Router into just an Access Point

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

msjpt

Occasional Visitor
Hi,

On my network I have a Draytek 2130 router that has no wireless and now I need to have wireless on my office. I know I can just buy a access point and connect it to my Draytek router, but in order to save costs, and also because I have an extra wireless router TP-Link TL-WR1043ND, im thinking on turning this wireless router into a access point.

I have already found on the web, instructions on how to turn my router TP-Link TL-WR1043ND wireless router on a access point. I also now that it should connect directly LAN to LAN to my Draytek router.

Because im a novice on this kind of network setups, I need some help and advices. Bellow I leave my questions:

1- Regarding turning my TP-Link TL-WR1043ND Router into just an Access Point, will this work ok? Or will be better for be to buy a dedicated Access Point? Pros vs Cons?

2- Regarding DHCP, its turned OFF on my Draytek router, because all devices on my network use a manual static IP configuration. So on the TP-Link access point, should turn DHCP, ON or OFF?

3- Regarding Firewall, its turned ON on my Draytek router. So on the TP-Link access point, should turn the Firewall, ON or OFF?