What's new

Netgear Nighthawk X8 vs Asus RT-AC5300

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Hussein Zreik

New Around Here
Hey guys!

First timer to this forum, and all I've been reading is great things! Awesome to see so many passionate people about networking!

So I've had many years of experience in the IT field and when it comes to home networking, I always want the best. So starting off, the nighthawk X10 is out of the question because of it's absurd price. but for something in the $200-$300 range for what I want, I narrowed it down to two options.

Simply put, which router is better overall and why? The Netgear Nighthawk X8 or the Asus RT-AC5300? Right now price point they're looking at $220 for the X8 and $300 for the AC5300

Thanks in advance for all your time and replies!

Do you have a specific reason for wanting tri-band?

Good move avoiding the X10. It's certainly not the best.

All the devices in my household are 5GHz (30+ not including guests). So another band to offload older, less active devices that could still benefit from the 5GHz, would be helpful. I did research on both but can’t seem to decide which is better. Leaning more towards the Asus but I wanted to get a couple more opinions for sure. Thanks for the reply btw!

Yes but are the devices on the 5GHz wifi network 1x1, 2x2, 3x3, 4x4 clients?

Last edited:
Based on my experience the wifi range/coverage on the Asus AC5300 isn't as good as the X10.