1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Netgear Orbi discussion thread

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by pete y testing, Oct 20, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    hi guys

    just opening this thread to provide a discussion on the orbi system
     
  2. DanH

    DanH Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    156
    Mine should arrive on Saturday, I'll post my impressions then. Also ordered a edgerouter lite, but it won't be here til Wednesday. Plan on using the Orbi router as just an access point, when it arrives.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2016
  3. Brian C

    Brian C New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Just joined the forum to discuss about Netgear Orbi.

    I just order from Amazon, and it should be by Monday and will update with impressions.
     
  4. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    just fyi

    Firmware update V1.3.0.12

    has just been released and is available by auto update only at this stage

    should be available on the orbi web site next week

    pete
     
  5. ablatt

    ablatt Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    What channel does the 5GHz backhaul use?

    Do you have control over the 2.4GHz and 5 GHz channels and SSIDs, on the main unit and satellite? Basically, can you turn off an auto-connect type configuration?
     
  6. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Location:
    victoria, australia

    depends as i have seen it use ch 108 and ch 153


    nope its one ssid

    nope as thats what its designed to do as part of its whole home wifi theory
     
  7. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,795
    You can set the 2.4 and 5 GHz channels on the client radios. You can't set bandwidth mode, shut off radios or set separate SSIDs per band
     
  8. DanH

    DanH Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    156
    Took a good bit to get the router to work right with my modem. Also took a few tries to get the router paired up with the satellite. They also stuck trying to autoupdate to the newest firmware (finally did it manually). After about an hour, I got everything working with the router and satellite updated. Long story short, I used to get no wifi upstairs in my bedroom, and now it is at full strength, and speedtest shows 175Mbps, so I am happy with that.
     
  9. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    hi dan

    the first issue may have been that the orbi router had to re adjust its ip range bacause it saw that the router you are using was on the same subnet and orbi chabged its self to avoid ip conflicts

    the second shouldnt have been a problem as the sat comes paired already and there should have been no reason to re pair them , i think the directions can be a bit confusing on that point

    great thats its working as advertised

    at this stage is your modem in bridge mode or still routing ? as you might want to ether bridge the modem if possible and run the orbi as the router or run the orbi in AP mode to avoid dual nat issues

    pete
     
  10. DanH

    DanH Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    156

    Until Wednesday, the Orbi is on its own doing all the routing duties actually. My edgerouter and switch won't get here until Wednesday. I plan on running it in AP mode then. Thanks for the help. It seems like a great product so far.
     
  11. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    at this stage and until netgear release more features for the orbi its prob the best way to run it as im doing the same and have great wifi
     
    DanH likes this.
  12. Mdaniel

    Mdaniel New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2
  13. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,795
    L&LD, Hydro and Mdaniel like this.
  14. DanH

    DanH Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    156
    I do wish there was a way to force a client on the satellite or it had a method of handing it off when the connection is far superior. Seems really random on whether I am going to connect to my satellite when I am upstairs (at 175Mbps) or remain connected to the downstairs router (at 30Mbps).
     
  15. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,105
    This is up to the client.

    The double edged sword of a single ssid. :(
     
    DanH likes this.
  16. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,795
    The roaming decision is up to the client. Check its network settings to see if there are any that apply to roaming.

    You can also try moving the satellite so that router and satellite coverage areas don't overlap as much. There is a backhaul throughput tradeoff involved, but a little experimentation may result in more reliable roaming.
     
    DanH likes this.
  17. DanH

    DanH Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    156
    Yeah I kind of figured, still 30Mbps is way better than I had before, and still plenty fast for streaming. I will try moving things around and see how that effects things though. That is a good idea.
     
  18. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,795
    pete y testing likes this.
  19. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,105
    Tim, does it really have 4GB of flash?
     
  20. jramskov

    jramskov Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks for the review, certainly an interesting product. Hopefully price will go down a bit.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.